How I Know It’s Almost Fall

 

Chili

1-1 1/2 lbs lean ground beef or turkey

2 large chopped onions

1 large green pepper, chopped

4 cloves garlic, minced

2 cans kidney, black, and/or pinto beans, rinsed and drained

2 cans diced tomatoes, undrained

1 15-oz can tomato sauce

1 cup water

2 tbsp chili powder

1 tsp dried basil, crushed

1/2 tsp black pepper

 

In a 4-qt pot cook ground beef (or turkey), onions, pepper, and garlic until meat is browned.. Drain fat.

003 

Add tomatoes, tomato sauce,

 006

Beans (I used 1 can each black beans and kidney beans),

007

Water,

008

Chili Powder,

 010

Black pepper,

011 

And crushed dried basil.

 013

Stir.  Bring to boiling, then reduce heat to a simmer.

014

Cover. Cook for 20 minutes.

015

Then enjoy!

 

This is the basic chili recipe I always use. It’s nice and chunky, which I love, and it’s easy to change up by using different (or no) meat, changing up the beans, and adding different spices to it.  I also like to top my bowl with some sour cream, shredded cheese, and crackers.

Leave a comment