5K Friday, and other stuff

 

Happy Friday evening!

I have to admit I’ve had Windows Live Writer opened all day, intending to write a post, but just didn’t have any inspiration (or motivation) until now.

I started the morning off with a big bowl of oats – boring, so I didn’t take a picture. 

I spent the morning trying to decide if I wanted to go to a Weight Watchers meeting or not.  I have decided to get the monthly pass again, which includes meetings and e-tools. I’ve been having a rough time sticking to the program and getting the scale to move in the correct direction since my last meeting.  So back I go.

I decided I’ll wait until next week, and hopefully get a bit closer to the number I was at my last meeting.

Then I hit the gym for a much needed, soul-cleansing workout. It would have been a perfect morning for an outdoor run, but I really just wanted to zone out on the treadmill.

run 9 17 10

I set the treadmill at 5.5 (about 10:50 pace) and ran. I planned on doing 3 miles, but I kept going and ended up running a little over 3.3 miles. And I had a realization about 2.5 miles in – it was actually easy! I mean, really easy! I wasn’t struggling to keep up, I wasn’t grasping for breath, and I was really enjoying myself.  It was my best run in weeks, and exactly what I needed. I was in a pretty depressed, self-deprecating mood this morning.

Then I came home and was STARVING!

I heated up some leftover spaghetti squash from last night, topped with some onion & garlic pasta sauce.

 004

And a big salad –crispy lettuce, 1/2 an avocado, 1/2 a red bell pepper, a little sprinkle of low-fat feta, and some red wine vinegar & olive oil. It was delish.

 005

Then, the doorbell rang. And this was waiting for me.

 006

What is it, you ask?

This! I’ve been looking for a book of strength exercises for a while now, and haven’t seen anything I like. Until Fitnessista talked about it a few days ago on her blog (which is great, btw). I went to my local Waldenbooks – sadly, we have no large bookstore in town – and they only had the Men’s Health version. I’m sure it’s pretty similar, but I wanted the one geared towards women.  Fortunately Amazon had it even cheaper than Borders, so I ordered it.

007

It’s broken into chapters by body part, and you can see there’s a good number of pages dedicated to each one. There’s even some workout plans already laid out in the back, as well as cardio workouts and some nutrition info.

.010

 008

There are full-color photos of each exercise, as well as great descriptions  – it’ll be hard to mess any of these up!

009 

 

Hope you’re all having a great start to the weekend!!!

One thought on “5K Friday, and other stuff

  1. Pingback: Subbing and Spice Cake « Running with Needles

Leave a Reply

