13 in 2013

 

The start of a new year always seems like such a great time to wipe the slate clean. New goals, new ambitions, fresh new calendar and planner. I look at it as a time to renew myself and forget about all the things I ‘failed’ at in the past year.

So, here are my 13 for 2013, along with a quick thought of how I’ll accomplish them.

Fitness

1. Exercise at least 3 times every week (but aim for 5) – attend at least 1 fitness class in addition to my half marathon training

2. run a half marathon (my 4th!) – hopefully the Lincoln Presidential in April and/or the local one in May, using a training plan from Coach Jenny Hadfield

3. keep track of my miles run – I’m thinking I’ll just write them in my planner, the old-fashioned way, and probably do a weekly recap on the blog

Health

4. Make eating 5 servings of fruits & veggies daily a habit – eat more salads and smoothies, track my Weight Watchers healthy checks

5. get to my “pre-living with a boy” weight – follow Weight Watchers 360 plan, track everything I eat (good, bad, & ugly), and see #1

6. try 2 new recipes a month – meal plan on the weekends, use my cookbooks more often

7. try to get at least 7 hours of sleep on school nights. that means getting to bed by 10ish.

Personal

8. blog 3 times a week – pre-write more often, spend more time writing instead of mindlessly watching TV, keep a blog journal to jot down ideas when I get them

9. read at least 2 books a month – this should be pretty easy with my new Nook. I’ll also be tracking my progress and books read on Goodreads.

10. finish knitting projects before starting new ones. I can think of at least 5 nearly finished projects off the top of my head, but there are probably more. Whoops.

11. talk to my parents and at least 1/3 siblings at least once a week – we’re pretty good about texting but it’s not the same.

12. become a better housekeeper – create a cleaning schedule and do laundry before it’s piled up 10 loads high

13. spend less, save more, and cut down on the ‘stuff’ – this is pretty straightforward. like most people I just have way too much stuff – clothes, shoes, bags, books, makeup, etc. I’m not a huge impulse buyer but I love a great deal. I need to use what I have before buying new, really think twice about new purchases, and get rid of what I no longer need/use/want.

So, there you have it. I hope to check in with these goals every month or two.

Have you made any New Years Resolutions? Share in the comments!
3 thoughts on “13 in 2013

    1. Melissa Post author

      I do the same thing! Now I’m stuck with lots of extra stuff that I don’t need or use. I’m hoping 2013 will be a year of downsizing.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

