Monday Running

 

All day I’d planned on running after work, probably on the treadmill, and then going to Bodypump after. Then I made my to-do list and realized all the little chores I’d like to get done this week. I though about what I could get done if I went home and ran instead and then changed my plans.

After getting home from work I threw a load of laundry in the wash, changed into running clothes, and had a quick snack. When it was time to switch I put the clothes in the dryer and headed out the door for a run. I had another 10×1 min interval run today, so it would be just a little bit longer than the dry cycle. Sweet.

It was about 55 degrees when I started and just starting to get a little dark. Perfect running temp for me. I listened to the same Rock My Run mix as Saturdays run and it was just as awesome.

My legs felt pretty good, not too sore or tired, but the hills were killing me. I didn’t stop during the 10 minute running intervals even though there were several times I really, really, really wanted to. A few weeks ago I would have just given in and walked. It’s nice to know that I have a much better mindset today.

My mile splits were all about 11:30ish, which is right on track for a 2:30 half marathon (11:27/mile to be exact).

Speaking of half marathons, my goal race right now is the Lincoln Presidential Half Marathon in Springfield, IL on April 6th. If you live in the area and are looking for a spring half you should definitely check it out. The course seems really cool, the entry fee is fairly cheap, and it’s a smallish field of just over 1,000 runners. I’m trying to convince the husband to train and run it with me but I don’t think that’s going to happen.

And since I’m on the racing front, I’ve got a 10 Turkey Trot this Thursday, which I’m really looking forward to. Running 6 miles will give the freedom, peace of mind, and extra burned calories to eat an extra piece of dessert!

2 thoughts on “Monday Running

    1. Melissa Post author

      Definitely! Lots of our road runner club members do that one since its so close. Maybe next year I’ll make the trip, too.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

