Poppin’ Pills

Day 3 Do you take any vitamins or supplements? If so, which ones and why?

This seems like a funny topic to put after Lance. Maybe it was meant that way though. I can appreciate the irony.

Disclaimer: I am in no way a medical professional (seriously, you don’t even want me to stick a band-aid on you) and was not prescribed any of the vitamins/supplements I take by a doctor, only by my mother the nurse. Close enough, right?

I’ve been pretty crappy lately about taking them, but when I remember I take: prenatal multivitamin, fish oil, biotin, and Osteo Bi-Flex

And here’s why

prenatal multi – I used to take a women’s, but read that even non-pregnant (definitely not) women of child-bearing age should take a prenatal. Done.

fish oil – lots of health benefits, namely cardiac. right now I have 3x/day pills but when I run out I’m switching to a 1x/day. who can remember three fishy pills a day?

biotin – I started taking this on my hair stylists recommendation when I began growing my hair out for the wedding. I didn’t really notice that it grew faster, but it was shiny and strong. my skin also started looking smoother, especially my face, and my nails grow like weeds.

Osteo Bi-Flex – because I’m an old person. Last summer when training for a marathon my knees, hips, and ankles were so achy. I mentioned this to my mom and she suggested this one. She even had a bottle in her pantry to take since she couldn’t take them. It’s basically glucosamine chondroitin, which is good for joints, and it’s a pretty huge pill to swallow. I always do this one first and get it over with.

I also should probably start taking a calcium and iron pill as well but never think about it when I’m at the store.

 

What’s the weirdest vitamin/supplement you take?

Leave a Reply

