August Writing Challenge Day 4

{This is part of The Fitness Cheerleader’s August writing challenge. Here’s why I’m participating.}

How have you changed in the past 2 years?

A lot.

Just over 2 years ago I made the tough decision to quit my teaching job in order to move in with my then boyfriend of 7 1/2 years. He’d just graduated with his Masters and gotten a job in a town neither of us had been to before.

Just a few short months later I went from girlfriend to fiancé.

I realized that living far from my family is tough, but having a partner in the same situation makes it easier to deal.

I learned that if we can survive living together in a teeny tiny apartment for a year we can do anything.

I attended 2 funerals too many. I became a marathoner. I worked several crappy jobs to help pay the bills. I realized that I really do love teaching, even when I’m only the substitute. I learned that time and patience are sometimes worth the stress and struggle. I became a wife. 

I became more fit, falling in love with strength training, surprisingly put running on the backburner for a while. I’ve gained 20 pounds that I worked so hard to lose.

I learned that making friends in your 20s is difficult, and wished I knew how easy I’d had it while still in school.

I’ve learned to not take anything for granted. You don’t know when it will be taken from you. Appreciate while you can.

Since 2010, I think I’ve changed for the better. I hope those who know me can say the same thing.

Leave a Reply

