August Writing Challenge Day 3

{This is part of The Fitness Cheerleader’s August writing challenge. Here’s why I’m participating.}

I’m coming at you all late today because I was driving all morning! I’m staying with my parents near Chicago this weekend and have a cousin’s baby shower in the morning. Fun!

Where would you like to be in 10 years?

Wow. This is a pretty deep question for day 3! Ten years seems like such a long time. Ten years ago I was 16.

mel 16

Nice hair, right?

I was just about to start a relationship with a boy who would become my husband. Yeah, that’s right, we’ve been together almost 10 years. Consecutively, I might add. So deep down I think I must be older already.

(thanks for the photo Mary!)

Ten years from now I will be 36.  I hope to be a tenured teacher, a homeowner, a mother. I would like to be a healthy weight, fit, still able to run and exercise regularly. 

I want to have earned mu masters degree. Become a certified personal trainer. Be someone’s role model. Finally get my house organized – and keep it that way (mostly). Finally French braid my hair. Feel like I’ve got my life (sort of) figured out. Feel like I have nothing figured out.

I have no clue where I’ll be in 2022. In 2002 I couldn’t have dreamed that my life would be the way it is now. Me, a marathoner? You’re crazy. Me, married to my high school boyfriend? That only happens in the movies. Living 300 miles away from my family? Never. We’re way too close for that.

If the next ten years are as fantastically amazing as the past 10 have been, well, bring it on.

What do you think you’ll be doing in 10 years?

2 thoughts on “August Writing Challenge Day 3

  1. fitnesscheerleader

    I have a strong feeling that your next 10 yrs will be equally as successful – good luck & have a great weekend!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

