Running…It’s Complicated

The past year or so, running and I have had a complicated relationship.

Partway  through marathon training I started to burn out on running all those miles. The heat was a lot to deal with, as were a lot of other things that accompanied marathon training: constant aches and soreness, hours away from home each weekend, running alone for miles and miles. It got to me. And I started to resent it. The last few weeks before the marathon I started skipping or cutting short a lot of runs. And the lack of dedication definitely showed on race day.

After that, I barely ran a step. I did a 15k in November that I’d registered for pre-marathon and a 10k on Thanksgiving with some friends. Besides that, though, I didn’t run at all for several months.

In March I kinda-sorta started training for our local half marathon, which was in May. Thankfully I never registered because I only did, I think, 2 longish runs. Being out of town almost every other weekend for wedding stuff really put a damper on things.

I actually volunteered for that race, and after that I started running a little on the treadmill, but my running base was nearly gone. Sad.

So, I decided to fix it. Enter the Couch to 5k program. This is actually what I used to first start running, about 3 1/2 years ago.

I found a great (& free!) app so I don’t have to deal with a written schedule.

IMG_1599

Here’s what it looks like when opened:

IMG_1601

This was yesterdays workout. It has voice commands and/or a beep that tell you when to walk or run. You can either have the app run the whole time – which is what I do on the treadmill – or just double tap the square on the bottom and it will check it off as done.

I actually put the intervals into my Garmin because it was nice enough to run outside! This was the weather before I headed out yesterday morning:

IMG_1594

Uh…what? It felt seriously amazing to run outside in that weather. In a perfect world, this would be the high every day for me.

I felt really good on the run. I think the walk breaks are so great for beginners – or those building back their base. Sure, I could probably run for longer right now. But I think not being able to run 3, 4, 5 miles straight would get me down.

After I get back to running a 5k without stopping I plan on using the 10k app and getting back to 6 miles easily. Maybe then I’ll think about a spring half (woo!).

IMG_1597

Post-run smile. This pretty much sums up how I’m feeling about running right now.

And breakfast. I was famished.

IMG_1596

Coffee (duh), water, green smoothie – spinach, banana, strawberry, mango, and 2 eggs. Delish.

Have you used Couch to 5k or some other program to get you running?

2 thoughts on “Running…It’s Complicated

  1. Jenn

    I LOVE Couch to 5K! I’ve been taking it pretty easy this summer and using it, though not running nearly as often as I should. Still, I really enjoy the pacing of it and I don’t feel that I am pushing myself past a healthy limit.

    Reply
  2. ~jenniferlynn

    I LOVE Couch to 5K and totally recommend it to anyone looking to start running. It took me 6 months to do the 3-month program, but I don’t think I would have made it to a 5k without it.
    I will have to check out the 10k app!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

