Admission of Guilt

Hey hey, a blog post!

I’ve been having a rough couple of months on the healthy living front. After the marathon was over I lost all motivation to get to the gym on a regular basis and eat healthy foods. I started eating lots of junk – candy at work, loads of carbs and cheese at home, and skipping the gym in favor of watching Netflix from the couch.

I would get to the gym 4 times in a week only to go 1 –2 times the next. Breakfast and lunch would be healthy and whole foods, just to be cancelled out by a dinner of mac & cheese, or 1/2 a pizza. I just felt like I was losing the battle.

Clothes are starting to become tighter and ill-fitting. Progress I had made is starting to regress. I’m sick of it.

As of today, I have 198 days until I wear a white dress at a big party with all my family and friends.

I feel like I have gained so much more than just 10-15 lbs in the last year and a half. I hate saying that I’ve gained in the first place.

Here are a few pictures that (I think) show the difference in my body, last year to this year.

photo1

This picture was taken in January of 2011. I had gained a few since the summer, but I was doing a great job of getting to the gym 4-6 times a week.

IMG_0739

This picture was taken the morning of the marathon, Oct. 9. My midsection looks so much bigger. Ugh.

IMG_0745IMG_0747

These are both pictures from work, In October and November. My legs look so big in that first picture, compared to the one above, in the running shorts. I know that it’s because I’d hardly been doing anything for my legs besides running.

 

Last night I had a great 2-hour workout. I ran 2.5 miles on the treadmill, did some shoulder work (Live Fit Phase 1 day 12) and then went to a group fitness class called 20-20-20. According to the description it was supposed to be 20 minutes each of cardio, strength, and stretching/abs. Instead, it was what I would call “bootcamp lite.” And I am definitely feeling it today. We started off with some stretching – hitting just about every part of the body. I would have loved to finish with this, though. Then we moved on to the “fun” part of the class. Burpees, jump rope, Turkish get-ups, push ups, bent-over dumbbell rows, and squats. All of these were done in 30 seconds intervals and mixed together in small circuits. I felt really good when I left the gym.

I’ve got legs, abs class, and some cardio planned for tonight. I am determined to get through the holidays without slacking on my workouts, to get back my workout mojo, and to get rid of the extra pounds. For real.

Hope you all have a great day!

3 thoughts on “Admission of Guilt

  1. Kris

    I’ve fallen into a rut, too. It happens. You’re really turning that guilt into motivation, though. You just gotta do it! When I was ‘thon training, I had a poster up on my door that said “Remember when you said you’d train tomorrow? That was yesterday.” Wise words.

    PS- Can’t wait until Saturday!

    Reply
  2. Liz

    I think you look great! But people say a white dress is the ultimate motivation, so I’m sure you’ll be back to your old routines in no time.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

