20 miles I don’t want to talk about

So, Saturday I ran 20 miles.

I really haven’t thought much about it since then, only when I feel a twinge of lingering soreness in my muscles.

It was an awesome run up until about mile 12. I don’t know what happened, exactly, but I started getting a weird dull pain in my side. It was also accompanied by rumbling in my, er, gut.

Miles 12 – 20 were mostly walked with just a little running thrown in. I was the tail end of the group this week and running long by myself can really get me – and probably anyone else – down. Then around mile 17 it started to drizzle. Awesome.

I finished in just over 4 hours, and given the conditions and excessive walking, I’m sure I’ll still hit my marathon goal of 5 hours. Unless it’s deathly hot, in which case I’m just going for a finish.

I ran a tiny bit on the treadmill Monday, but my hips and quads were still pretty sore so I switched to a bike for some cross-training.

Tuesday was 3 miles on the treadmill. I wanted to get outside but I kept putting it off until it was almost dark outside. Oh well.

Yesterday was an unintentional rest day. I had the day off from work and spent some time cleaning the apartment and reading.

Speaking of reading, I am hooked on the “Hunger Games” series. After I finish the 3rd one I’ll do a full review.

I didn’t get in a run this morning, though I had planned to. I really need to get better at not slacking on my mornings off. Any suggestions?

I finally got my wedding binder organized to my liking this weekend. Yeah, I know, I’ve been engaged for over a year. But now that things are kicking into gear, planning-wise, it was a long overdue chore. Look for an upcoming post about it, too.

Nothing too terribly exciting has been going on around here lately, except for being busy with work. Blogging has kind of unexpectedly taken a backseat and I think it was a good break for me to focus on other stuff. Hopefully in October, once the marathon is over, I can get my health-fitness-weight loss-blogging self back in order. It’ll also be the 8 month countdown to wearing a white dress in front of all my friends & family, so there’s that to think about, too.

I hope you are all having a wonderful week so far. Thanks for putting up with me and my excuses lately Winking smile I love all my readers!

4 thoughts on “20 miles I don’t want to talk about

  1. Liz

    I’ve been slacking on my morning runs too lately. I think with it getting darker it’s just harder to wake up. And don’t beat yourself up about a sh*tty long run – we ALL have them!

    Reply
  2. Ryan

    I’m so proud of you, sis! I can’t wait for marathon weekend.

    Also, did you buy the books, or just borrow them from the library? If it’s the former, think I could borrow the one(s) you’ve finished? I feel like everyone is raving about them and I’m missing out.

    Reply
    1. Melissa Post author

      I can’t wait for marathon weekend either!

      And I borrowed the books from the library, but I definitely recommend reading them. They’re quick, easy reads but so so good.

      Sent from my iPhone

      Reply

Leave a Reply

