Long Run Fail

So, I tweeted Friday night that I was freaking out about a planned 16 mile long run Saturday morning.

Well, Saturday morning came and went, but I didn’t.

It was actually raining when I woke up for the run, and nothing is more miserable than running long distances in the rain. Plus, I had to work at 11 and rushing around after running is no fun.

So, I decided I’d head out Sunday morning. No biggie. Saturday actually turned out pretty nice – Matt and I went out to breakfast and picked up some apples and peaches from the Farmers Market.

Sunday morning I woke up around 7 am. The weather was looking pretty good – mid 70s, humidity not too high yet.

I got up, put on my running clothes, and made a small breakfast.

Then I sat down at my computer and lost track of the time. By the time I got out the door it was just after 9 o’clock and the temperatures and humidity were creeping higher. My plan was to run an 8 or 9 mile loop, come home for a water/snack break, then go back out and run the rest until I got to 14.

Fuel-wise, I brought along 2 Gu packets, some Gu Chomps, and a water bottle filled with Gatorade and water. I ate the Chomps after about 4 miles, then a Gu at about mile 7.

I ran a 9 mile loop and got home around 11. One tall glass of ice water and 2 clementines later I felt a lot better. Sitting down in the air conditioning didn’t hurt either Winking smile

Eventually I got my butt back outside and immediately knew I was not going to hit my mileage goal. It was hot, humid, and sunny. I went out about an mile and a half and knew I needed to turn around. My calves were starting to cramp, my hips ached, and my stomach was starting to growl. Ugh.

I run/walked the whole way home (less run, more walk) and was just feeling miserable. As soon as I walked in the door I drank some water and inhaled a turkey sandwich.

I felt defeated, tortured, and disappointed in myself.

Then I looked at my Garmin and realized I’d just traveled 12 miles.

No, it’s not the 14 or 16 I’d hoped to complete this week, but I still did a lot more than the old me would have.

There’s always next week – I’m planning on getting up and out much  earlier and bringing more fuel with me.

I’m also going to stretch and foam roll the night before so my muscles aren’t tight going into a long run.

Today I have a 4 mile run planned and I’m going to take it slow and easy. There’s just over a month left until the marathon and I’m starting to feel the panic setting in.

I know I can do this.  I just need to remember that preparation is key and keep pushing until the end.

Sorry for the rambly-ness of this post. I am just feeling kinda blah about running lately. Hope you are all having a better relationship with your workouts than I have been lately!

2 thoughts on “Long Run Fail

  1. Shane

    Yeah – I don’t think you can count a 12 mile run as failing!! Great job for getting out in the heat and humidity to make it happen! Keep it up!

    Reply
  2. marathonerml

    Fail! No way! You got out there and ran! You’re doing great and you still have a month to go. Your consistency in daily runs is inspiring so keep it up!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

