Back to School

Yes, it’s that time of year again. I’m sad to say that I am not teaching this year (again) but as a substitute, I still get to be in the classroom and surrounded by students.

Yesterday I subbed for a high school English teacher. I must say, it was a pretty easy day. All the students were juniors or seniors, and 5 of the 6 classes were AP. I was able to get a lot of my own work done.

IMG_0625

Bathroom self-portrait!

Well, I wasn’t surrounded by them in the bathroom.

After work I had a nice recovery workout after yesterday’s 12 mile run/walk. I did 15 minutes each on the stepmill and the treadmill (walking on an incline), then a few back and bicep exercises. Nothing too crazy, but enough that I’ll probably feel sore. Then I came home and dove into this book.

DSCN2840

Yeah, I hadn’t heard of it recently either. When I started my grad school application (!) and saw that it’s accepted in lieu of the GRE. Good for me, since the nearest GRE test center is about 2 hours away. The MAT is offered at my (local) prospective university. Wahoo.

There’s a ton of stuff to “review” for the test – vocab, word roots, humanities stuff. The works. So, what to do when there’s lots to relearn? Make flashcards!

I filled out the colored ones before getting the genius idea to cut them in half. Then I ran out.

DSCN2842

So, a trip to Staples was in order. Did you know you can buy a pack of 500 index cards there? I do know! And they were only 2.29! I picked up two packs. Because, really, you never know when you’ll need them.

DSCN2843DSCN2844

That’s a lot of notecards.

 

The evening was also filled with eating (duh)

DSCN2839

Leftover rice/black bean/tomato mixture and some refried beans. Topped with a sprinkle of cheese, of course. You can’t have a Mexican-inspired meal without cheese, right?

 

Then, because I totally had the craving for ice cream/peanut butter cups, I made some banana soft serve. Super simple.

IMG_0629

Just throw a few (preferably frozen) bananas in the blender/food processor and mix until creamy. I added in a spoonful of creamy peanut butter and a sprinkle of chocolate chips at the end and blended them up. De-lish. It totally killed my craving.

Today is a catch-up day for me. Laundry, studying, cleaning, running. Should be tons of fun, right!

Leave a Reply

