Backcountry Brewery

Yesterday afternoon we headed down the mountain a bit to Frisco, CO. My FMIL is feeling a bit of altitude sickness, and we were all up for a delicious lunch and some shopping.

When we turned down Main St. the first thing we saw was a local microbrewery – we knew where we were headed for lunch!IMG_0572
For one thing, the views were amazing.

Backcountry Brewery is a microbrewery and restaurant that serves delicious beer (duh), pizza, and typical bar food.

IMG_0570

We weren’t lucky enough to sit out on the patio, but we were at a table just inside and still enjoyed the views.

IMG_0571

The inside was open, light, and airy – I could’ve sat there all afternoon.

First things first, we all ordered up a beer – my brew of choice was the Wheeler Wheat – though it was a tough choice. They all sounded yummy.

IMG_0573

It was pretty delicious, though I must admit it wasn’t the best wheat beer I’ve tasted.

IMG_0574

I was pretty hungry – I braved a morning workout (at the indoor gym) and just had a small breakfast afterwards. The burgers were calling my name.

 IMG_0569

I went with the mushroom melt – sautéed mushrooms, caramelized onions, and Swiss cheese on top of your choice of beef, bison, chicken, or black bean burger. Black bean? Yes, please! And it definitely did not disappoint. It was a little bit spicy, nice and tender, and I really didn’t miss the meat at all. Matt ordered the Santa Fe bison burger and I had a bite – yum. The bison was so juicy and flavorful.

IMG_0575

The fries were pretty tasty too Winking smile

After the burgers and beers had disappeared we decided to walk around the town for a little while. I was happy to see a yarn shop and picked up two balls of pretty purple wool (perhaps for some gloves and a hat?) from What’s Needling U.

Here’s a few shots of the view and the downtown. It was so pretty – mountains and clear blue skies everywhere you looked. I could definitely get used to seeing that view.

 DSCN2616DSCN2617DSCN2618

Not really sure what we’ll be up to today. I’m planning/hoping to get out for a run, even if I have to walk most of it. The views are way too beautiful to waste working out inside!

One thought on “Backcountry Brewery

Leave a Reply

