Loafin’ Around

 

I love bread. Like, really love it. I don’t really know where or when it happened, but I can remember being the one at every family party who ate 3 dinner rolls and more pieces of Irish soda bread than I count.  (This also happened pre-weight loss, but that’s neither here nor there.)

DSCN2530

Bagels? I’ll eat one. English muffins? Sure, love those nooks and crannies. Fresh baked bread? You better watch out and leave me some butter, because I’m gonna eat that bread up.

So, of course, with losing many pounds comes a change in what you eat. No longer can I indulge and enjoy big doughy bagels every day for breakfast. No more soft pretzels accompanying trips to the mall. No endless dinner rolls at dinners out or holidays. Sad smile

Instead, I eat Bagel Thins, or Arnold sandwich thins, super low-cal bread that isn’t quite the same as the calorie-laden regular breads.

But! Baking bread is surprisingly easy (and fun). I honestly don’t know why I don’t do it more often, especially since I love chewy, doughy, fresh bread. A bajillion times better than a sad loaf in a plastic bag from the grocery store. It’s usually cheaper, too.

So, last night I started looking around for a good wheat bread recipe and found one here. I followed the recipe exactly, so head over to Tammy’s Recipes for this and tons of other delicious looking recipes.

First step: gather the ingredients

DSCN2523

Not easy to do when you have about 2 square feet of counter space.

 

Computer on the other side of the sink.

Hmm. I should probably cut up that pineapple.

DSCN2525

Follow recipe as directed. Let bread rise twice. Begin to turn on oven, then lose power for the evening after a car accident knocks over a transformer. Oh wait, just me?

I baked my bread for 30 minutes in a 350 degree oven as directed. My oven is electric, though, so that may make a difference in time. Everything seems to cook (and burn) faster in there. Also, I covered the loaf pan with foil for the first 15 minutes to avoid burning the top. Worked like a charm.

DSCN2529

Oh man, was this good.

DSCN2532

A bit chewy and nutty from the whole wheat flour, a little bit sweet, and a whole lot delicious.

Trust me, I’ll definitely be baking more of my own bread (and other carb-y treats) in the future.

Have you tried any new recipes lately?

Is there something you’ve always wanted to cook but haven’t tried yet?

One thought on “Loafin’ Around

Leave a Reply

