Wedding Wednesday, Vol. 13

 

This weeks post is extra super special, because I have big wedding news to share.

I said yes to the dress!

 

Yes, Scarlett, I know how you feel in that dress. Minus the whole “I married Charles Hamilton” thing.

 

Matt – this post contains pictures of wedding dresses. If you don’t want to see any, please go away!!!!

 

 

 

This past Thursday my mom, my sister, and I went to David’s Bridal for my first go at trying on wedding gowns. I really had no intention of purchasing one that day (famous last words) and just wanted to see what looked good on me. I think the last time I tried on any sort of formal dress was way back in high school, for my senior prom. Needless to say, my body has a different shape and look than it did 7 years ago and I honestly didn’t know what would and wouldn’t be flattering.

Unfortunately, I don’t have any pictures of my in wedding dresses. We were honestly having too much fun trying them on and seeing all the dresses that weren’t the one. And there were a lot.

This is what I thought my wedding dress would look like – strapless, plain white, lots of tulle and poufy-ness. Um, not so much. The strapless-ness of it bugged me enough in the five minutes I wore the dress that I knew it wouldn’t work for an entire wedding day.

 

Then I tried on this beauty.

I’d first seen it on a mannequin many months ago, and had been lusting after it ever since. However, when I had the chance to actually try it on – I didn’t love it. This thing weighed (no joke) about 10 pounds. It was covered with beading, lace, and lots of layers in the skirt. Um, not the dress for me, thanks.

Next was this pretty, pretty White by Vera Wang dress, that practically engulfed me in all it’s tulle layers. Next please.

 

I think in all I tried on about a dozen dresses, most of which made me feel like I belonged on top of a cake or a graham cracker with chocolate. There are two things that no one tells you about those princess-y wedding gowns. They are 1) really heavy and 2) will make your legs hot, and not in a good way. Because no one will see your legs underneath all of that tulle.

The dress that I will be wearing on my wedding day was actually the first one I tried on. Every dress that came after it was compared and none were good enough to top it. Funny thing is, it wasn’t even a dress I had on my list of “must try on” dresses, and the consultant picked it off the rack after I told her what I liked.

The first time I looked at myself in the mirror wearing the dress, I got a little choked up. I definitely looked like a bride. I put it on again when my sister arrived a little while later, and then again after I had tried on all the other dresses. When I didn’t want to take it off, and started crying happy tears, I knew it was the one.

I went ahead and ordered it and it’s scheduled to arrive in September. I can’t wait until I can put it on again!

 

Oh, some more exciting wedding news? We’re one year away from our big day!

6 thoughts on “Wedding Wednesday, Vol. 13

    1. Melissa Post author

      It was pretty easy, but once I tried on a few dresses I knew what I wanted and didn’t want. Knowing your max price helps a lot too

      Sent from my iPhone

      Reply

Leave a Reply

