Impulsive

 

Edit: I wrote this post yesterday morning on the train and forgot to post it when I got to my mom’s! Sorry!

Because I love running races, haven’t bought myself anything lately, and am semi-impulsive with a debit card, this happened last night.

raider classic reg.

QND Raider Classic 10k on June 25th

hannibal cannibal reg.

and (for the 2nd time) the Hannibal Cannibal 10k on July 2nd.

Yes, these are two Saturdays in a row. And both 10ks. But, I will be in the throes of marathon training, so it’s really not a huge distance in the grand scheme of things.

Plus, they were both cheap – $18 and $20. What a steal.

I must admit, both of these races were tentatively on my calendar, but I didn’t know all of my travel plans and possible work schedule so I was waiting. And there’s a price increase on the 1st race, so that was my kick in the pants.

My hip is feeling a bit stiff this morning, and I have a feeling that the hard kitchen chair I was sitting in for hours yesterday may have something to do with it. Sitting on the train now probably isn’t helping things.

I’m hoping to get in my scheduled 3 miler once I get to my mom’s this afternoon, not only to stay on track but to preempt the beer and snacks I’m sure will be consumed at the baseball game I’m going to tonight. It’s gonna be a party.

Hope you’re staying cool wherever you are!

5 thoughts on “Impulsive

  1. Jenn

    1. Love your blog! (I’m a music teacher too, and I like to run…I just don’t knit. By my mother-in-law does; she owns a knitting store in Cleveland)
    2. Thank you for posting that picture for active.com – I was wondering where I could find a listing of 5Ks near where I live (northern MI) so the recommendation is great!

    Have a great day!

    Reply
    1. Melissa Post author

      It’s a lot of fun! It’s a smaller race, but run really well. Lovers leap hill is no joke, either. It’s also during Tom Sawyer days, and there’s tons of stuff going on in Hannibal that weekend.

      Sent from my iPhone

      Reply

Leave a Reply

