Run and Done

 

Week 2 of Chicago Marathon training has begun!

But first…

I saw the link for this knit bracelet on Twitter yesterday (can’t remember from who) and immediately knew that I had to have it.

I rummaged through my yarn stash and found this one, a pretty worsted, wool blend in a heathered pink.

photo (5)

After about an hour and a half I had a cute new bracelet. You bet I’ll be wearing this thing a bunch!

photo (6)

Dinner was Caitlin’s perfect baked tofu x2 (and again for lunch today)

DSCN2434

and a small salad. I’ve been on a French dressing kick lately – yum!

I got to bed at a pretty reasonable time, because the alarm was set for 6 am! The temperature was supposed to get near 100 today, so I wanted to get my run in before the heat/humidity were too terrible.

After putting on my sunscreen, drinking a glass of water, and getting all my gear ready to go, I hit the street for a quick 3 miles. I didn’t stop to walk until the end of mile 2. Success.

run 6 7 11

Ever since we skipped right from winter to summer weather, my times have been a bit slower. It’s gonna take me a few weeks to get used to running in 80% humidity again, but I’m ok with that.

I came home, showered, poured a cup of coffee, and made this delicious breakfast.

DSCN2440

Peach, kiwi, and grapes <— fruit that’s been in the fridge too long

DSCN2441

Mini bagel w/butter, scrambled egg. I think this is my go-to breakfast. Quick, easy, and keeps me full for a while.

I also worked on this list:

DSCN2437

I’m heading out of town for a few days for some (more) family events, and made a list so I don’t forget to pack anything.

Back to my run. Today was probably the earliest I’ve ever gotten up and out for a training run, and it felt really nice to be done and showered by 9 am. If the rest of the summer is going to be anything like the last few days have been, waking up early is going to become a regular thing, I think.

I have been slacking on the strength training this week, for 2 reasons. We had a tile fall off of our shower a few days ago and our landlord has been over fixing it yesterday and today. I wanted to make sure my shower was done before he got here both days (since I had to work at 3) and I didn’t want to leave the house empty so he couldn’t work. I’m not sure what kind of strength exercises I’ll do this weekend at my moms house, but I’m thinking there’ll be lots of squats, lunges, and pushups involved.

I’m off to finish packing up my suitcase and head to bed – I’ve got an early train to catch in the AM!!!

Are you a list-maker like me?

I have to make one for everything or something will be forgotten.

Leave a Reply

