National Running Day

Yesterday, June 1, was National Running Day . Until a week or two ago, I didn’t even know running had its own holiday – every day is running day for me!

Wednesday was also my first “real” day of summer break, with nothing planned except for work later in the afternoon. I woke up around 7am and made a glass of iced coffee (leftover from yesterday – yum) and toasted a mini bagel. I had grand plans of getting out early for my planned 4 mile run.

Side note: this week is the official beginning of marathon training for Chicago (on 10.9.10) and it doesn’t feel real yet. Once I get my training plan into a Google doc I’ll put up a link.

Anyway, I of course procrastinated and didn’t head out the door until about 10:30 and it was already pretty hot.

DSCN2424

Before subjecting myself to 45 minutes in the hot sun.

run 6 1 11

Then I did this.

DSCN2430

And looked like this:

DSCN2427

I’m glistening all over. It’s not a good look.

And somehow I look more sunburned before the run then after it. And yes, mom, I did wear sunblock. Even though it got into my eyes and stung like crazy at mile 2.5.

Anyone know of a goodbutnotcrazyexpensive (as I am poor) sunblock that won’t make me blind? I’ll love you forever.

After I got home and guzzled a big glass of ice water I rolled out my yoga mat and did a killer 20 minute abs workout that Bobbi posted yesterday. Ouch.

Lunch was totally random and delicious.

DSCN2432

Baked potato ‘n’ salsa, fat free refried beans w/cheese

DSCN2433

Broccoli slaw w/red wine vinegar and olive oil.

Later, after work, I munched on a protein bar – it was pretty good, but maybe a little too chocolaty?

IMG_0458IMG_0459

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I hit up the library and brought home a bunch of knitting books. I am desperate need of smallish/simple/easy to travel with patterns for all the traveling I will be doing this summer.

Oh, we also ate dinner. Turkey burgers, veggies, and mashed potatoes.

IMG_0460

IMG_0461

 

So far, it’s not really sinking in that it’s summer vacation. I’ve kept myself pretty busy (intentionally?) so the realization of a missing paycheck haven’t hit too hard. I’m playing the waiting game right now and it’s driving me nuts.

I’ve got a slew of things I want to write and blog about in the next few weeks, but sometimes putting things in writing is not as easy as it seems. Plus, I’m really good at procrastinating. I think I need to start turning off my wireless so I don’t spend my morning hours readying way too many blogs.

Ok, time to find some lunch before tackling my to-do list for the day. Have a great one!

Leave a Reply

