Wine and ice cream

Long time no blog, huh?

Yesterday I ran my third half marathon and I’m working on my recap – hopefully it’ll be up by Tuesday. I’m still planning on posting my recaps of the Illinois half marathon from 4/30 and the Run for Rehab 5k on 5/7 as well.

Today was spent icing, stretching, and generally recovering my yesterdays race. I’m feeling pretty good, except for my knees and hips. I think this is due to the numbers of hills and the fact that I was running in soaking wet shoes for more than 2 hours.

Today Matt and I also had a special birthday dinner for yours truly. My day isn’t until Tuesday, but he has meetings to cover several nights this week so we celebrated a bit early.

On the menu was chicken tetrazzini, our “special occasion” food. Matt made this for me on one of our first anniversaries, and again last year for our anniversary. It doesn’t’ hurt that it’s pretty darn delicious.

DSCN2377

I got started with some apply wine from Illinois Cellars. It was pretty good – reminded me a lot of a Riesling, it was sweet and dry and yummy.

DSCN2379DSCN2380

 

DSCN2378

Fresh from the oven. It was so good I went back for seconds, and there’s still about 2/3 of this left for tomorrow (and the next day, and the next day).

Thanks for dinner honey!

 

Matt also took care of dessert.

DSCN2383

In ice cream form.

DSCN2384

Birthday cake ice cream, to be exact. Perfect.

Now I need to get ready for work. It’s the last full week of school and I’m starting to get a little freaked out. I don’t yet have a teaching job for the fall, and no full-time summer job lined up either. I’m still waiting to hear back on a few a teaching applications so say some prayers and keep your fingers crossed!

Stay tuned for many race recaps in the next few days!

Leave a Reply

