New Shoe Day!

 

Well, they’ve been sitting in my closet for about a month or so, but I finally realized it was time to trade in my old ones. For the past (almost) 2 years I’ve been running in Brooks Ravenna’s and they are awesome. When I was looking around for a new pair last month I saw that the Ravenna had been discontinued in place of the new Ravenna 2. Now, I’m sure it’s a great shoe. But I know that the original Ravenna’s make my feet happy when I run. So I ordered a pair from here because they had the cheapest price. I’m pretty sure I’ll order another pair soon, before they’re all gone.

DSCN2293

New on the left, old on the right. Even from this photo the old one looks worn out and less cushion-y for my feet.

DSCN2294

Right – old. Left – new. Look how worn out the heel and forefoot are!

And it’s no wonder my legs have hurt more than they usually do lately. I was running on nothing! The treads on the new shoes are so pretty. And visible.

DSCN2299

Happy feet!

DSCN2308

I’m ready to run – let’s go!

 

The plan was to run 3 easy miles today to keep my legs fresh and to break in my new shoes a bit. It’s clear that the old ones had to go.

DSCN2314

Not too shabby.

run 4 25 1

I finally set my Garmin to auto-lap, so it captures my mile splits automatically and correctly. And look at my average pace! Just a few months ago my average pace for the same distance was 10 – 20 seconds slower per mile. I’m getting really close to a sub – 30:00 5k, I can feel it.

Today was pretty gray outside and a few raindrops started to fall near the end of my run. They felt pretty refreshing, actually, but I won’t be happy if Saturday’s predicted thunderstorms happen during the half marathon. This is one chick who does not enjoy running in a downpour. That’s what treadmills are for, right?

Nothing else too exciting today. It was my last day off school for spring vacation, so it’s back to the grind tomorrow. At least I have an exciting weekend to look forward to!

4 thoughts on “New Shoe Day!

  1. Courtney

    I can’t wait for Friday! 🙂 I don’t know if you saw but I’m on a twitter break so I sent you an e-mail with my cell number in case you need to get a hold of me this weekend

    Reply

Leave a Reply

