One Week More

Happy Saturday!

This morning I ran my last long run before next Saturday’s half marathon in Champaign. I set out with a goal of running 6 – 8 miles, depending on how I felt.

But let’s back up to breakfast. I woke up around 7:30 this morning and headed into the kitchen. So, you know, I took about 10 steps.

I started the tea kettle to make some green tea (Lipton brand, btw) and toasted an English muffin for my pre-run fuel. I topped it with about 1 tablespoon peanut butter and a sprinkle of flaxseed.

DSCN2272

And then 2 hours later I finally hit the pavement. It took me a while to drink all that tea, guys. I also made today’s to-do list and did a little blog reading while I digested.

I ran a semi-new route today. I’ve mentioned before that, sadly, my new town doesn’t have awesome forest preserves and loooong running/biking paths like my old town did, but it is very residential with lots of sidewalks and streets that all connect and go on forever. I ran an out and back route today on one such road, and it made things go by pretty quickly. I turned around at 3 miles and started back home, with an extra little loop in there for a 7th mile.

DSCN2278

After. It’s like I’m waving hello and giving the peace sign at the same time!

And at this time next week I’ll need 6 more fingers to show you my distance Winking smile

DSCN2276

I’m getting an awesome tan line from this bad boy.

run 4 23 11

The weather was pretty perfect for today’s run. It was about 58 degrees when I set out, just a slight breeze, and partly sunny. Perfecto.

I mixed water and lemon-lime Gatorade in my water bottle today, just like I’m planning to do on race day. I brought a Gu with me, but also had leftover Shot Bloks from last week, so I just ate those. I had one at mile 1.5, mile 3, and mile 5.  I think today’s run was even better than last week – my average pace was just 10:22!

DSCN2280

I was giving the thumbs up but apparently I’m not as awesome a photographer as I thought.  I definitely felt good after this run though!

My post-run fuel of choice today was a strawberry-banana recovery drink from Gatorade. This is part of their new G Series Fit line and I bought it as part of a rebate deal from Walgreens. I was expecting a chalky, smoothie-type drink but this was more like juice. It was pretty tasty, and was gone pretty quickly! With just 120 calories and 12g of protein this is a good option for refueling after a tough workout.

DSCN2284

I also made my own protein smoothie after I showered, and brought it in the car to drink as I ran my many errands.

DSCN2282

In the mix: 1 cup nonfat milk, 1 scoop GNC whey protein powder, 1/2 frozen banana, and a handful of frozen strawberries. Yum. Also, I love this (reusable) cup. It’s what I bring to work for water and is so much easier than unscrewing a cap every time I want a sip!

In other news, I used my stuff & save coupon at Old Navy today – mine was for 40% off! I only bought a few things today and saved almost double what I spent, but I may be going back before my coupon expires for more goodies Smile

(Don’t forget to enter my Yoplait Greek yogurt prize pack giveaway!)

Hope you are all having a wonderful Saturday – I know I am!

2 thoughts on “One Week More

  1. kilax

    Yay! You are totally ready for the half. It’s so smart to practice your fueling like you are! You’ll have to tell me what you’ll be wearing at the half in case I bump in to you!

    Reply
    1. Melissa Post author

      Thanks! I’ll probably be wearing a pink t-shirt and black capris. Nothing that’ll stand out, lol.

      Sent from my iPhone

      Reply

Leave a Reply

