Fighting for 5

 

DSCN2241

Don’t I look awesome after 5 sweaty miles? Yeah, I don’t think so either.

You know, yesterday was a pretty good day. The kids were exhausting, as per usual, but my after-school job was nice and quiet. I drove straight to the gym afterwards to get my workout on. I started with strength training today – chest and back. I got in the big weight room with the boys and worked pretty hard, if I do say so myself.

I had originally planned on running from the gym and back, but I was just not feeling that route today. Instead I drove home and ran from my front door. It apparently was a good idea. Here are my mile splits:

  1. 10:17
  2. 10:14
  3. 10:13
  4. 10:20
  5. 10:39

DSCN2239

Pre-workout I ate an apple and 1/2 of this bar, which was alright. I had a buy 1, get 1 free coupon when I bought it. I still prefer Clif or Lara bars, but 20g of protein is pretty spectacular.

DSCN2237

I ate the other half in the car on the way home to run. I also grabbed a few handfuls of Goldfish at the house too. Open-mouthed smile

I had originally planned on running just 4 miles today, but it was so beautiful outside and I was feeling pretty good so it turned into 5. It’s also the longest I’ve run in a few weeks, too. I’ve got 10 miles on the schedule for Saturday and I’m trying to get myself psyched up for it. I think I’ll be adding some awesome new music to my playlist tomorrow night, too.

DSCN2242

Lemon-lime Gatorade is the perfect post-beverage. Plus, it’s what’s being served on the course for the Illinois Half-Marathon so I need to prep myself.

I forgot to take pictures of dinner, but it was fast, easy, and tasty. I browned some ground beef and boiled pasta. I mixed them together, added 1/2 a jar of pasta sauce and then put it into a Pyrex dish. It got topped with mozzarella and baked in the oven for about 8 minutes, or until the cheese is melted to your liking. I totally meant to steam and mix in some broccoli, but it was already after 8:00 and I forgot. Oops.

Today I’m scheduled to give blood, so I’ll have a quick workout beforehand. I’ve also got leftover pizza for dinner. Smile

So…what’s your favorite pre- or post-workout food/drink?

I like apples or a protein bar. They don’t upset my tummy and give me enough fuel to keep going.

4 thoughts on “Fighting for 5

  1. marie

    Congrats on the run!!

    I normally have some Apple with peanut butter prior to a workout, and I normally workout after work so my post workout meal is always dinner 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

