It Sprung

 

Happy second day of spring! It was definitely in the air here today, with the temperature getting into the mid-70s. Too bad there’s a cold front moving in. (Fingers crossed it’s the last one!)

071

Sadly, these aren’t from around here. I took this on my trip to Austria in 2008.

Tonight’s dinner was awesome. I picked up some sweet Italian turkey sausage at the grocery store last week and grilled it tonight on George (Foreman, that is). I also diced up some potatoes that I then tossed with olive oil, pepper, sea salt, and oregano. They were roasted for 40 minutes at 375 degrees F. While those were cooking, I diced up some onions and bell peppers. I heated some oil in a pan, added a little minced garlic, then threw in the onions & peppers. I let them sauté a while, until they were soft and a little browned. It was so delicious, and I’m looking forward to leftovers tomorrow.

DSCN2200

Before I came home to make dinner, though, I had a kick-butt workout. I ran 4.5 miles outside in the warm, early evening air. This was my toughest run in a while; my legs and my gait just felt off the whole time. I took a lot more walk breaks than usual, especially in the last mile and a half.

run 3 21 11

Possible reasons for the off run:  not stretching enough since my last run/before this run, not fueling enough before/during the run, and not bringing water with me (will I never learn?). I powered through, though, and came back in the gym for some weights.

I had a pretty productive evening, too. I stopped at the grocery store to get some more salad. I haven’t really mentioned it, but I’ve been on a total salad kick lately – I think I’ve had one every day for at least a week. I also did 2 loads of laundry, cooked dinner, planned out my day tomorrow, and washed all the dishes. Yay!

On the health front, my plantar fasciitis has been flaring up lately, with the increase in running and onset of flats and sandals. I have been stretching and massaging it as much as I can, but my right foot still feels pretty tight. Any suggestions?

Hmm..what else? Work has been going really well. I’m still subbing, but it’s a permanent position for the rest of the year. There haven’t been any music jobs posted for next year yet, but I am checking my resources nearly every day.

Ok, pretty quick & boring post today. I’ll try to be more exciting tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

