Lá Fhéile Pádraig!

 

Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

The weather here was absolutely beautiful yesterday – I was able to turn off the heat and open up the windows!

I had planned for an outdoor run today (I’d be crazy not to) but was having a little trouble finding motivation to go after I got home from work. Matt has gotten into geo-caching and suggested I go with him tonight. The park we were heading to has a pretty nice running path, so I grabbed my shoes, and headed out. We planned on meeting up in about 40 minutes, which was enough time to do this:

 

run 3 16 11

 

The park is pretty much all rolling hills, some steeper than others. After working my legs and then going to spin class on Tuesday, the uphills were a little rough. Yeah, yeah. I know it’s good for me. But it hurts.

When we came home I made some stir fry with chicken and brown rice for dinner. That I inhaled way too fast to snap a picture of. Winking smile

As a runner, there are lots and lots of different gadgets and accessories to buy and wear. Some are pretty reasonably priced.  I can deal with that. Others, not so much. There’s $100+ shoes, $15 socks (really?), and gadgets that can run you several hundred bucks. I’ve been lucky to be gifted many of my favorite things, and I’m really not too picky about running in super fancy-schmancy clothes. (Sorry, Lululemon). There is something I’ve been eyeing for a while, though, and want to get some help in making a decision.

 

Amazon

The Garmin Forerunner 305. If you’ve never heard of this thing, then your bank account is lucky. It has GPS and tracks mileage, pace, etc. as well as also being a heart rate monitor. There’s also the 205, which has the same specs minus the heart rate monitor.

I have the Nike+ GPS on my phone and have been using that while running, but it’s not always accurate. And frankly, having iPhone bounce around on my arm with my headphone cord swinging around gets pretty annoying after 45 minutes.

This model is $200 + tax and shipping on the Garmin website, but Amazon has it for $128 with free shipping. That’s a pretty good deal.

And because I’m an adult and I like to make well informed and researched decisions, it’s your turn.

Do you have a Garmin and love it? Hate it? Couldn’t care less about some silly watch and want to talk about shoes? Let me know what you think!

6 thoughts on “Lá Fhéile Pádraig!

  1. Ryan

    I got the 205 last year and love it! So much so that I have a hard time getting myself to run without it (I always pace myself too hard when I can’t tell what pace I’m running at). If you’ve been thinking about it for a while, you should definitely do it, especially when it’s priced so low (only $10 more than the 205 – when I bought mine the 305 was ~$50 more).

    ALSO, for those cold months where you may be forced to run indoors on a treadmill, the 305 is compatible with a foot pod accessory (a little pricey, though, but hopefully the price will drop if you ever decide to get one). This little guy works with the 305 and above (so I’m SOL) and measures your pacing similar to the Nike+ (though it also measures cadence, so it has an outdoor use, as well).

    So those are just some thoughts. I love my 205. If you’ve really been thinking about this and the only thing holding you back is the cost, my opinion is that it’s totally worth it to save up the money to buy it.

    Reply
    1. Melissa Post author

      Sweet. I think you’ve sold me on it. I’ve got a gift card and a grouping for amazon, so it wouldn’t be much out of pocket. I think it’ll be my tax return splurge.

      Sent from my iPhone

      Reply
  2. Kristen

    Ryan has the Garmin. I forget which model it is, but he likes it.

    I can’t skimp on shoes anymore. The last pair I bought was $60 and a different model than I’m used to and they’re running my feet down pretty badly. Looks like I need to go back to my Zoom Vomero’s…

    Happy St. Pat’s Day! Hope you have a green day!

    Reply
    1. Melissa Post author

      I couldn’t remember which one he had either. And seriously, I’m never getting cheap running shoes again – though I did just get a new pair of my Brooks Ravennas for half price because they’re coming out with a new model.

      Reply
  3. Kate

    This is the same Garmin I am eyeing! I talked to several folks who have them, and all suggest the 305. I priced it at Best Buy, which was pretty good. I plan to get it soon since I’m training for the Half.

    I buy my shoes at a store near me, Rogan’s, when they have buy a pair & get a pair half off. I like a particular Nike+ model, so getting two pairs for $150 isn’t too bad 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

