Train > Car > Bus

 

So, I originally intended to write a Friday favorites post while on the train his evening, then hit publish when I got to Matt’s parents house around 9:45 pm.

Instead, our train was unable to drive on tracks because of a derailment about halfway between Quincy and Chicago. Due to the disruption in service we were instead going to board a bus and drive to our intended destination. Amtrak was kind enough to call most of the passengers and leave an automated message with this information. There were a few people who weren’t called, and I feel really bad for them. Our train bus was scheduled to depart the station at 5:30, so we got there about 15 minutes early to park and wait. And 5:30 came and went. No bus to be seen. Matt called the 1-800 number and, after speaking to an agent on the East coast, found out that a bus was en route and would arrive at 6:30, an hour past the scheduled departure time. This was almost worse than having to take a bus in the first place. Then add on top of that a toddler that was starting to go from cute to screaming monster.

Source

A bus (thank you Peoria Charter) finally pulled up to the station a little past 6:30 and we all quickly boarded, ready to hit the road and reach our destinations. The first hour wasn’t too terrible – I read quite a few pages in Haruki Murakami’s “What I talk about when I talk about running” and had some snacks (pineapple, string cheese, everything pretzel thins, apple).

Unfortunately, the screaming child continued to scream and cry for the hour and a half on the bus until we got to their stop. I think all of the passengers (including me!) would have cheered if we weren’t so tired and frustrated. It was that bad.

So, what have I been enjoying this past week? Honestly, not too much. the week started off pretty badly for me, eating and working out wise, and it didn’t get much better as the week went on.

The cold, snowy winter weather has had me craving carbs like they’re going out of stock. Bread, rice, couscous, chips, cereal. It’s pretty ridiculous and a little sad.

This weekend I’m going to try to blog once a day, but we’ll see how that goes. Saturday Matt and I (along with our mothers, of course) are visiting 2 possible reception venues tomorrow, one of which we’ve already seen. If we like the new one we’ll have our wedding there, if not we’ will going with the second of the day, which is the one we’ve already seen. I’m pretty excited to finally be setting a date, but it’s a little scary at the same time. It means I’ll have to actually start making decisions and start planning, rather than just ogling pretty pictures on wedding blogs every day

And as I write this we’re still about 2 1/2 hours away from my final stop, and the train was scheduled to arrive 30 minutes ago. Yeah, this officially sucks. it’s gonna take a lot of coffee until I‘m Melissa in the morning. now I’m off to (hopefully) sleep a little bit.

Update: we finally rolled into the train station around 2:30 am, about 5 hours later than the train should have arrived and 8 hours after our bus left the train station. It was quite the evening of travel.

One thought on “Train > Car > Bus

  1. Kristen

    Sorry your transportation was so stressful and sorry I didn’t get to see you this weekend 😦 But congrats on this weekend’s successes!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

