Words on Pages

 

One of the things I want to do more this year is read. I was once a very avid reader – finishing a book a week, at least. Then college came around, then a full-time job, then I started blogging/working out/knitting. So reading has, unfortunately, fallen by the wayside. I do still read, don’t get me wrong, but not like I used to.

A few weeks ago I was reading through Google reader, as per usual, and saw an awesome post on Then Heather Said. She asked for books her readers are currently loving, want to read, recently read, etc. It totally inspired me to write my own “book club” post about what I’m reading right now.

At any given point I’m in the middle of at least 2 books, if not more.

Currently on my nightstand:

Amazon

This is the book that the Julia Childs part of “Julie & Julia” is based on. I’m about halfway through, and it’s fantastic. It makes me want to be a better cook – or at least go to Paris and eat all the fantastic food she talks about!

 

I also like to carry a book in my purse. Comes in handy when  I work and the kids are off at PE or lunch, or when I’m waiting somewhere.

Amazon

 

I got this book from my uncle for Christmas, and I thought it was the perfect gift. Turns out the author is one of his favorites, and he actually named his son (my cousin) after him. My uncle even had the good fortune of meeting him once, and said he was a pretty interesting guy. It’s really good so far, and I find myself relating to a lot of things he talks about. I’ll give a better review after I finish it, which will hopefully be soon.

And like any good reader, I’ve also got a list of books I want to read. The actual list in infinitely long, but there’s a few that have made it to the top:

The Help – Kathryn Stockett

Water for Elephants – Sara Gruen

American Wife – Curtis Sittenfeld

I’d also like to read the Stieg Larsson Millennium Trilogy (Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, Girl who Played with Fire, Girl who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest) but they’re always checked out at the library, and I do NOT need to buy any more books.

So, to continue the conversation…

what are you currently reading?

what have you read recently and loved?

what do you plan on reading next?

what book have you tried to read and hated?

Anything else you’d like to share about books or reading?

6 thoughts on “Words on Pages

  1. keepingupwithkate

    what are you currently reading? Between a Rock and a Hard Place (Aron Ralston)

    what have you read recently and loved? Born to Run – JUST finished this last night and I recommend it to anyone who runs. So interesting. Really got me thinking about how I should think about running (or rather, how not to think about it so it’s not torture!)

    what do you plan on reading next? I have SUCH a long list. One of them was recommended to me by students – 13 Reasons Why. Most of my to-read books are YA books since I teach English at a high school.

    what book have you tried to read and hated? I tried reading Jonathon Franzen’s The Corrections – couldn’t finish. I also wasn’t a huge fan of Water for Elephants. I did finish it though.

    Reply
  2. Brittony (brhodgins)

    what are you currently reading?
    In between books until I get the money for the next one.

    what have you read recently and loved?
    Brandon Sanderson’s The Way of Kings
    A song of Ice and Fire Series
    Wheel of Time series
    Rick Riodan’s The lost hero
    (are you seeing a trend?)

    what do you plan on reading next?
    Robin Hobb’s Rain Wilds Trilogy

    what book have you tried to read and hated?
    Interview with a vampire……urghh.

    Anything else you’d like to share about books or reading?
    Just be warned, I read Sci-Fi Fantasy.

    Reply
    1. Melissa Post author

      I totally hear you on being able to afford books. I’ve put myself on a no book buying diet until I read everything I already own. What about getting a library card so you can check out books without having to buy them? That’s what I did.
      And my dad loves sci-fi as well. I’m pretty sure he’s read the Rick Riordan series and liked it.

      Reply
  3. Heather

    HOORAY for book club posts 🙂 (and thanks for the shout out!) ummmm- and also – i love love LOVE your blog background! (mainly because i am working on my first scarf right now 🙂 )

    Reply
  4. allofmywords

    what are you currently reading?
    -> Mythical Man Month “essays in Software Engineering” (It’s for work)
    -> The Almost Moon – Alice Sebold

    what have you read recently and loved?
    -> “Her Fearful Symmetry” and “The Shack”

    what do you plan on reading next?
    -> Not sure at this point. I may take a break from reading and get back to my writing.

    what book have you tried to read and hated?
    All the Harry Potter books

    Anything else you’d like to share about books or reading?
    I am more of a short story reader than a novel reader, I also enjoy poetry. You should look up “McSweenys” publications. They are awesome unique and the founder, Dave Eggers, is one of my favorite authors.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

