2011 Resolution and January Goals

 

I had every good intention of posting about my 2011 resolutions on Saturday, but I unexpectedly got sick and spent the majority of Saturday and Sunday in bed.

So many people post their New Year’s resolutions (NYR), but have you ever looked up the word in the dictionary? What, exactly, does resolution mean?

I went here, and found 12 different meanings for the word.

  1. a formal expression of opinion or intention made, usually after voting, by a formal organization, a legislature, a club, or other group.
  2. a resolve or determination
  3. the act of resolving or determining upon an action or course of action, method, procedure, etc..
  4. the mental state or quality of being resolved or resolute;firmness of purpose.
  5. the act or process of resolving or separating into constituent or elementary parts.
  6. the resulting state.
  7. Optics . the act, process, or capability of distinguishing between two separate but adjacent objects or sources of light or between two nearly equal wavelengths.
  8. a solution, accommodation, or settling of a problem,controversy, etc..
  9. Music – a. the progression of a voice part or of the harmony as a whole from a dissonance to a consonance.  b. the tone or chord to which a dissonance is resolved.
  10. reduction to a simpler form; conversion.
  11. 11. Medicine/Medical . the reduction or disappearance of a swelling or inflammation without suppuration.
  12. 12. the degree of sharpness of a computer-generated image as measured by the number of dots per linear inch in a hard-copy printout or the number of pixels across and down on a display screen.

I think the 2nd and 3rd definitions are the ones most people think of when creating NYR’s. Becoming determined to put something into action, or to change something about ourselves.

(Side note: Caitlin of Healthy Tipping Point wrote a great post about creating and keeping your NYR’s)

Here’s what I hope to accomplish in the next 365 362 days:

  • – get a full-time job
  • – take a multivitamin most days
  • – get to my goal weight
  • – read more, at least 1 book per month
  • – journal/blog more quality posts and with more regularity
  • – try one new recipe a week
  • – get more organized
  • – run a full marathon – hopefully Chicago in October

I do have an action plan for each one of these, and have written them in a journal to keep track of my progress.

I’ve also got some goals set for January, just like I do for every month, but this year I’m planning on fitting them into the big-picture, my NYR.

I plan to…

– continue the job search, by sending out resumes and cover letters to the several local music stores/schools, checking the newspaper classifieds every day, checking online job search websites. I plan to spend about 5 hours a week searching, about 1 hour each weekday

– finalize my half marathon training schedule for the Illinois (Half) Marathon on April 30th. I plan on using a hybrid of Hal Higdon’s novice and intermediate plans. I used the novice to train for my first half last June, but I’d like to incorporate more speed training into my life.

– eat mindfully. I let myself go a little nuts last month with all the holiday treats readily available, though I did lose 2 lbs. over Christmas. I really want to get back to eating when I’m hungry and to fuel my body, not because I’m bored/tired/lonely/etc..

Did you set any goals/resolutions for the new year?

 

3 thoughts on “2011 Resolution and January Goals

  1. Pingback: Goodbye 24, Hello 25 | Running with Needles

  2. Kristen

    I can’t believe you’ve got your sights set on Chicago! I may have to come in that weekend for moral support 🙂

    Reply
  3. Morgan

    I love the commitment to eating mindfully! That is one I struggle with and often have to remind myself. I constantly catch myself building my next bite before I finish the one in my mouth. Good luck – 2011 is going to be a great year!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

