This, That and the Other

 

It’s been a long day. I subbed for a PE teacher and, man, it is exhausting being on my feet supervising kids all day!

Yesterday I had a great run on the treadmill. Minus the fact that my Nike+ GPS wouldn’t let me change the music – every time I tried to change it the app closed. Hmm. I hope I don’t have to reinstall the app.

 

run 12 13 10

It was pretty much a tempo run – I sped up a bit at the end but stayed at 5.7 the majority of the time. I did take a quick break after miles 1 and 2 to grab a sip of water – I forgot my water bottle at home!

I’m finally getting myself a bit more organized today. I divvyed up the grocery bill for the last few months (I do most of the shopping but Matt & I split the bill). I also stopped at Staples and got new calendar pages for my planner for next year. It felt pretty good putting next years events in there, including the races I’m doing (or hope to do!).

I’m hoping to also buy a cheap, no frills wall calendar to keep track of runs and my training plans – I like to have it posted somewhere visible.

I went to a spin class at the gym tonight – the first one in many, many months. The bikes are actually really nice – they have monitors on them that show your RPM, cals burned, heart rate, distance, time, and (my favorite) what gear your in. That made it really simple to control the resistance. I went to a 4:30 class which works perfectly with my schedule. There weren’t too many people there either, so I think I’ll be going back next week.

Hmmm, what else? Oh! I cooked tofu for the first time tonight. It was pretty good too! I marinated it in a vinaigrette dressing while I showered and then baked in at 375 degrees for 30 minutes. I probably could have pressed a bit more moisture out of it, but it wasn’t too bad. I also cooked up a big bag of stir-fry veggies on the side. I cooked 3 portions of tofu and 2 lbs. of veggies, so I’ve for lunch for the next 2 days packed and ready to go. Score!

Alright, I’m going to go get warm and read for a while before going to sleep. I’m working again tomorrow so I’ll be up early.

Christmas countdown: 11 days (or 10 if you’re reading this Wednesday). Are you excited yet? I know I am!

Leave a Reply

