The One Where She Left the House

Yeah…so blogging yesterday didn’t happen. I did manage to stay in my pjs all day and get very little done. But it was 15 degrees outside (felt like 0 with the 36mph winds) so I think it was justified. Smile

Yesterday’s oatmeal was a new (to me) combo – cinnamon apples and peanut butter. I am out of bananas and didn’t feel like pumpkin again – peanut butter does not go well with pumpkin. I really love putting fruit in my oatmeal – it’s a super simple way to get a serving in and kick up the flavor. I sliced up a gala apple super thin, sprinkled a little cinnamon on it, then popped it in the microwave for about 2 minutes to soften it. While it was microwaving I started the water for my oats. After I dumped the oats in, I stirred it then added the apple.

001

In the bowl:

  • – 1/2 cup Quaker old-fashioned quick oats
  • – 1 medium gala apple
  • – spoonful of Skippy Natural peanut butter
  • – sprinkle of crushed walnuts

It was so delicious that enjoyed it again this morning. The apples lend a nice crunch and tart sweetness to the oatmeal. You really can’t go wrong.

Last night Matt and I ventured outside in the cold and snow for the first time since Friday night. Wow. I feel kinda lame typing that. No, I did not work out at all Saturday or Sunday. I’m not to happy about that, but there’s no use worrying about the past. I can only work to change how I approach the future. And that includes working out every day the rest of this week.

We didn’t go anywhere exciting last night – just a quick trip to Qdoba for some dinner. I had a buy 1 get 1 free coupon and didn’t feel like cooking dinner. I got a naked (no tortilla) vegetarian burrito w/black beans, rice, fajita veggies (which they seriously skimp on), a bit of sour cream, cheese, guacamole (yum!), and lettuce. It was pretty good, but I really should start asking for no rice. It’s not that great anyway, and I’d rather just enjoy the veggies and beans.

Last week’s Weight Watchers meeting was pretty un-exciting. We had a trainee leader who wasn’t that great. I know she’s new and still training, but I was pretty bored and didn’t really get into anything she talked about. But I could tell she was really nervous.

I gained .8 this week, which stinks. I did go straight from the gym to my weigh-in, which could be a likely cause. But this week I’m trying to eat lots more veggies and less fruits. I have no trouble eating 5 servings a day in fruit – apples, oranges, clementine’s, grapes, etc. I love it all. But for some reason I have trouble with veggies – even though I love those too. I’ve been eating more salads and have peeled and cut up a bunch of carrots so they are easy to grab and munch on. We’ll see how it goes this Thursday.

I’m not working today so I plan on getting major stuff done around here. I have the grocery list ready to go and will (hopefully) be heading out soon. Also on the to-do list for today: wrapping Christmas gifts! I’m taking the train home for the holidays a few days before Matt will drive up – he has to work Christmas Eve, boo! So I need to make sure everything is ready to be packed in his car without my assistance. Also, I need to make sure he can’t snoop around the closet when I’m not home. Winking smile

Alright, I need to actually get moving for today. Hope you’re all having a great Monday!

4 thoughts on “The One Where She Left the House

    1. Melissa Post author

      Kelly told me about that! I want to try it – at least to see how it is. Though I can’t imagine it can live up to my kick-ass oatmeal creations. Especially with no peanut butter.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

