I-Challenge You!

Ok, I won’t be writing up a huge post tonight on the new Weight Watchers plan and my thoughts on it. Why? Because I haven’t gotten around to reading all the materials yet! I fully intend on delving into them tomorrow evening.

I was totally stoked to get to my meeting tonight. I knew I would have a gain on the scale (just 1lb), but it’s a lot better since I started eating better Monday and got in some great workouts. It was Thanksgiving, I was at my parents house for 5 days, and I didn’t only worked out once between Tuesday and Sunday. On the plus side I have a shiny new weigh in book and am starting fresh – no gains so look at anymore.

I did buy the new points calculator (even though I have an iPhone and e-tools) because, frankly, it’s a lot quicker at the grocery store to pull the little calculator out. I also purchased the complete food guide. Again, I have all that stuff available online, but it’s usually a lot easier (especially since I don’t know the new points plus values of many things) to just look in a book.

Ok, so I’ve dropped a couple of hints about my next big race. Well, here it is.

I’m doing the I-Challenge at the Illinois Marathon. Basically, you do the 5k on Friday night and either a half (me!) or full marathon Saturday morning for a bonus shirt and medal. On top of the medals I’ll get from the 5k and half marathon. Another medal? Sure! But really, this race holds a special place in my heart: it was the very first 5k I ever ran and inspired me to continue running longer distances. This race goes through the campus of the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and is really lovely with great crowd support. The finish line is on the 50 yard line of Memorial Stadium, which is pretty sweet (and bring back high school marching band memories).

My brother is also doing this race with me – although he’ll be way ahead of me because he runs far faster than I. And I’m so glad there’s another runner in the family that will do crazy races with me!

This was a pretty good deal as well – just $65 for both races, 3 medals, and 3 shirts (one is a tech shirt).

I’m hoping to start working on a training plan sometime soon – I’ll probably be using something from Hal Higdon like I did for my first half marathon.

Stay tuned tomorrow for a recipe post (taco bake!) and y thoughts on the new Weight Watchers Points Plus plan!

One thought on “I-Challenge You!

  1. Pingback: 2010 in less than 500 words | Running with Needles

Leave a Reply

