There’s a snake in my boot!

No, not really. But I did pay a visit to Snake Alley today. What is Snake Alley, you ask? Well, only the crookedest street in the world!

002(Historical Signage)

003

More signage.

 

004

Yeah, that’s all one street. Super-duper curvy.

 

005

Another view. People drove their carriages up this thing!

007

It’s the Mississippi!

 

My friend Mary and I headed to Burlington, IA (about 1 1/2 hours away) to visit Target and have a little day away.  She had to work tonight so there wasn’t too much time to explore the little towns, but we did stop at Snake Alley because it happened to be right there. And it was pretty neat. I ended up getting this little cutie (in a size medium!).

010

Cute new running/cold weather fleece I picked up at Target today. I love that is has a zip-up pocket on the chest for my iPhone when I run – no more armband!

And I mentioned on Twitter yesterday afternoon that I rolled my ankle (again!) during my run. This time was a bit worse than Monday’s stumble and it’s actually pretty swollen. Photographic evidence below:

012

Current state of my sprained ankle from yesterday’s failed run (it’s the right one).  It’s not too painful, and is feeling better than it did last night. I’m hoping a few days off running will give me a speedy recovery. Because I’ve got that 15k next weekend to worry about!

And yes, I know I’m in desperate need of a pedicure. I don’t want to scare you with a close-up picture! Also, I’m blogging from bed because that’s where the DVR box is – and I needed to catch up on Project Runway and Vampire Diaries!

Ok, off to put some more ice on that thing!

Anyone have any fun Halloween plans?

One thought on “There’s a snake in my boot!

  1. Lisa Johnson

    Ice! Ice. Compression. Elevation. Keep your ankle wrapped with an ace bandage (not too tight, not too loose) and ice it as much as you can for 20 minutes at a time. You need to total rest to get ready for a run next weekend and I would check with a doctor sweetie.

    If only to have them show you how to wrap your ankle properly. 🙂

    Good luck!

    Lis

    Reply

Leave a Reply

