A Great Eight

 

I didn’t get called in to work today so I was able to get in my 8 mile long run I missed over the weekend. The temperature was supposed to get up to about 81 degrees today, so I knew that I had to leave the house earlier than normal in order to avoid the heat.  I got up around 8, got my running clothes on, and made a pre-run snack.

006

Light English muffin and 1 T peanut butter

005

Took these with me as mid-run fuel (but only ate the fruit strip).  It didn’t give me quite the boost GU does, but it was pretty good.  Honestly, I wasn’t hungry enough to eat any more – the pb and English muffin did a good job!

run 10 25 10

Right around mile 3.2 I stepped on something that was laying on the sidewalk and rolled my ankle inward. Ouch! I caught myself pretty quickly and walked for several minutes until the twinge went away.  I iced it as soon as I got home, but it gave me no problem the last half of my run. Whew.

I’m getting pretty psyched for this 15k – I love running races, especially large ones, and especially in Chicago. There’s something about the lake and the views that make me feel so serene. Open-mouthed smile

Also, my aunt asked me today (via Facebook) if I’d be interested in running this half marathon with her the Saturday after Thanksgiving. She and a friend are already registered, but I am seriously considering it. I’ve been wanting to run another one for a while, and I’ll already have built up my mileage for the 15k. Also, it’s pretty cheap (only $50 before 11/09) and the goody bag includes a long sleeve tech tee and pilsner glass. I’m gonna give myself a few days, mostly to figure out travel logistics, but I’ll keep you all posted. Winking smile

Anyway, when I got home I poured myself a glass of Gatorade (I water it down a lot) and jumped right in the shower. I felt so gross when those eight miles were over.  Then I wanted to eat the entire contents of my fridge fixed some eats.  Egg + egg white and a bowl of oats w/banana, sliced almonds, chocolate chips, and White Chocolate Wonderful peanut butter.

007

Finally got some meal planning/grocery-list-making done and had a nice chat with my mom.

carrotcake

Ate a Clif Carrot Cake bar en route to the grocery store. Yum.

And now I’m drinking a mug of this:

018

Total impulse buy at the store this evening, but so worth it. It’s very similar to Chai tea – I could definitely go for some more pumpkin and less spice in this tea. But it’s still good.

Now I’m off to do some reading and knitting – I’m working on yet another pair of socks.

What have you done for yourself today?

Leave a Reply

