A Welcome Monday

 

Whew, am I glad the weekend is over! This one was a killer.

Friday I worked both jobs. Subbing was good, fairly easy – I had time to write a couple blog posts. The restaurant – not so much. It was weirdly busy with several big groups in town for a volleyball tourney. I was there until about 11:15 then came home and couldn’t fall asleep until almost 2!

Saturday I was pretty lazy all day – I slept til about 9, which is late for me, and didn’t do anything productive until work at 4:30. I was pretty psyched because it was my last day!  I don’t want to spend my time doing things that don’t make me happy – and this job was doing just that. I was exhausted after working weekends and subbing weekdays, I wasn’t able to spend time with Matt and my friends, and I just wasn’t happy working in a restaurant again. I bartended for a wedding and was home by 11:15. I was able to sleep much easier last night – I think I was gone before 1.

Today was a fresh start.  I started my day with a lovely bowl of oats.

001

Topped with chocolate chips, slivered almonds, and a big glob of peanut butter.

002

004

View from my living room window – I love looking at these fall colors in the morning!

I caught up on blog-reading while enjoying the food and view (and an unpictured 3 cups of coffee!). I also sorted and washed 4 loads of laundry – which is all folded and put away!  While waiting for laundry I had a random but delicious lunch.

009

Toasted English muffin with sugar-free strawberry jam and egg+egg whites scrambled up quickly.

008

Big sliced-up tomato w/ranch and some salt-n-pepa.  So so good.

Matt was away for the weekend visiting friends in Springfield (I would have gone if I wasn’t working) and he arrived back home shortly after I devoured that tomato.  We were so used to being apart for weeks all through college (we went to different schools) but now that we live together even a weekend seems like a lot of time to be apart.  I definitely didn’t realize I was starting to take it for granted!  (Let’s see if I say that next time he does something that irritates me Winking smile)

Because I haven’t gone grocery shopping all weekend and majorly slacked on meal-planning today we went out for some dinner.  There was pie involved – caramel apple a la mode, to be exact. It was delicious and, surprisingly, not overly sweet.  (I still feel totally weird taking pictures of my food in public, so nothing to share with you.)

I’m not yet sure if I work Monday or not. If I don’t I’ll be getting out early to run the 8 miles I didn’t get to this weekend. And by early I mean early, because it’s supposed to get up to 81 degrees here in Illinois tomorrow!  After that I will for sure be planning out this weeks dinners and writing the grocery list. Fun times, right?

One more thing before you go:

Running is about finding your inner peace, and so is a life well lived.

– Dean Karnazes, ultrarunner and author.

Leave a Reply

