6 miles and OIAJ!

 

I can’t believe it’s already Monday night! I had a pretty lazy day, I’m not gonna lie. I did sub today, but it was only a half day and I was home by noon – and was able to eat lunch with Matt, who was home for his lunch break.

I had every intention of quickly writing out my meal plan & grocery list for the week (I’ll do a post on this sometime) by 1, 1:30, then would head out to shop. Yeah, not so much. I kept getting distracted by Twitter, blogs, adding music to my running playlist on iTunes. I didn’t leave the house until 4:00!

But let’s back up a little bit. I’ve been training for a 15k that’s coming up, and I did a 6 mile long run on Sunday. I really prefer to do long runs on Saturday so I have a whole day off before work to recover, but my work schedule didn’t work out.

I left for my run around noon, which probably wasn’t the greatest since it was almost 80 degrees outside – but nothing compared to the Chicago Marathon runners!

I was feeling really good when I went out for this run – I hadn’t done any exercise since Thursday’s 4-miler on the treadmill.  I had fresh legs, fresh air, and lots of crunchy leaves : )

Miles 1-3 were pretty much out and back, then I headed into downtown for the last little bit.  I ate one of these around mile 4 (about 45 minutes in).

clifshot

 

Ew. I usually go for Gu but saw this at the store and thought I’d try it out. Boy am I glad I only bought one. It was too sweet and the consistency was not to my liking – syrupy and thinner than Gu.  I literally had to force myself to finish this, then swished some water in my mouth to get rid of the taste.  I think next weeks long run will need a Chocolate Outrage Gu so I can redeem myself.

The last couple miles were a little tough. I think it was due to the heat and sun more than anything else.  My first walk break (besides waiting to cross streets) was when I ate my gel, then again at mile 5.  Here’s the recap from Nike+ GPS:

run 10 10 10 

 

I was super hungry afterwards, and still was this morning. There was an empty peanut butter jar hanging out in my pantry.

022 

You know what that means?

024

025   

Oats in a jar! I love getting all the peanut butter from the jar – yum. I mixed some TJ’s dried cranberries and a little yogurt in here for extra protein/dairy. My kitchen was pretty empty before today’s grocery trip so there weren’t too many good things to mix in. But it was still delicious!

 

I stocked up on yummy oatmeal mix-ins today (maybe too many?) so look forward to many yummy bowls in the future.

Leave a Reply

