One of these things is not like the other

Hello, Friday! I’ve missed you!

This post is coming to you from a 9th grade science classroom. I was lucky enough to be asked to sub today and it’s been a pretty good day with pretty good students.

I got the bright idea to bring my computer with me to work. Even though there is no wireless connection, I can at least draft some blogs during lunch/planning which frees up some time at home. Double win!

Ok, so I was at the grocery store the other day to pick up some Gu gels for my upcoming long runs and 15k race when I spotted this in the health food section.

Side note: I love the health section at this grocery store. They have just about everything you see other healthy living/food bloggers talk about. And they’re in the process of putting in bulk spice bins.

photo2

Do you see it? Lurking amidst the rice/soy/almond milk, shot bloks and protein powder? Yeah, diet pills. I couldn’t not take a picture of these shelves. I think just about everyone who reads this blog will agree that SlimQuick, Hydroxycut, and Green Tea Fat Burner are NOT healthy food items. I was a little sad.

Also, I found this in the same aisle:

photo3 

This is and all-natural fruit strip made by Stretch Island Fruit Co. So yum. There are several different flavors – apricot, raspberry, strawberry, grape, mango, and 1 or 2 others I can’t remember.

This was really good. I normally don’t go for fruit strips/fruit leather, but the nutritionals on this weren’t too bad – just 45 calories, 0 fat, 1g fiber. (1 WW pt). It wasn’t too soft but it wasn’t tough either. It had a nice, natural sweetness. It kind of reminded me of a thicker fruit rollup (which I also love).  And the price was right – just $.69 apiece.

Disclaimer: Stretch Island Fruit Co. does not know who I am. This product was purchased with my own cash and I’m reviewing it because it was yummy. But if they’d like to send me some I’d happily take it!)

This weekend is going to be a busy one. I work 2 shifts at the bar tomorrow – only a couple more weekends til I’m done! I also work a wedding Sunday night, and will be fitting a 6 mile run in there somewhere. Tonight Matt and I are planning on going out for a little date night. It’s been too long.

 

What are your weekend plans? Anything exciting?

Leave a Reply

