About Me

Welcome to Running with Needles! My name is Melissa, and this is my blog.  I’m 24 years old and live with my fiancé and our cat, Sterling, in Quincy, IL.  This blog documents my journey (and struggle) to get to a healthy weight the healthy way. I hope you find something here that can help you in your healthy journey as well.

I haven’t always been healthy – otherwise I would have probably never reached 230 lbs! I used to love indulging in huge bowls of ice cream, entire bags of chips, soup in bread bowls, and bricks of cheese.

summer 08

This photo is from July 2008. I look back at this now and don’t remember ever feeling that I looked this bad.

Later that month I got a teaching job, and probably gained 10-15 more pounds. I loved stopping at a drive-thru for some fries or a root beer (no ice!) on the way home.

In October 2008 I attended my fiancé’s brother’s wedding. I didn’t have a dress to wear to the event, so I went in search of one. One of the shops I went to was Lane Bryant. They had a very cute dress on display and I tried on a size 16. And it didn’t fit. It was too small. I nearly cried in the fitting room. I really liked the dress, and knew it would flatter me. So I ordered one online. I was happy with it, but knew that I couldn’t go on wearing a size 18. It just wasn’t me, and I knew I needed a change.

oct 08-1

Me at said wedding.

 

On November 15th, after work, I stopped at Panera for some dinner. I had my laptop with me and, while eating my tomato soup in a bread bowl and  tomato/mozzarella panini, I went to the Weight Watchers website. I found that there was a meeting near me that evening at 6:30. This was it, I thought. This was the time to finally make a change. So, I went. And it was the first step in my marathon to healthy.

One thought on “About Me

  1. Beth

    Hi Melissa! Thanks for stopping by my blog. Our stories sound really similar – – I got up to 250 pounds through eating copious amounts of junk food and leading a sedentary life, and then joined WW last year in March and my life is so much different and SO much better.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

