Hot Chocolate? Yes, Please!

 

Happy Sunday friends!

Once again, the weekend has totally eluded me and Monday morning is right around the corner. I guess when you work Friday and Saturday night there isn’t much time for a weekend anyway.

hot chocolate logo

My brother asked me recently if I’d be interested in running the Hot Chocolate 15k/5k that will be held on November 6th in Chicago. I’ve been dying to run another race longer than a 5k and I can’t say no to running in downtown Chicago. So today I took the plunge and registered for the 15k!  That also means I’ll be heading back home for a weekend which will also be nice. It’s hard to go from being your family everyday to not seeing them for weeks at a time. I’m going to be taking the train home for this trip because, really, there’s no reason I need to drive. So look forward to some blogging on a train!

Since I have now committed to running a long distance race, and haven’t been running anything longer than 3.5 miles lately, it was time to get my butt in gear – literally. So this afternoon I headed out for a 4 mile run. The weather was perfect – 60 degrees, sunny, low humidity. Here’s what I did:

run 10 3 10

5 miles in 52:22.

I had only planned on running 4 today, but I was feeling really good so I did an extra 1 mile loop. I didn’t feel like I was struggling until maybe the last .5 miles, and only took about 3 walk breaks. It was a beautiful day outside and the weather was definitely a contributing factor to this great run. The fact that I could get out and do 5 miles with minimal stress makes me feel good for my upcoming 15k. I also set a new 5 mile PR!

This was my only workout for the weekend, but I feel good about it. And I’m definitely getting to the gym tomorrow for strength training and some turbokick.

Coming tomorrow: tonight’s man-made dinner (it was good)

 

What goal are you working towards right now?

Me, I’m increasing my mileage for my next big race as well as keeping the scale going in a downward direction.

 

Have a great week!

2 thoughts on “Hot Chocolate? Yes, Please!

  1. Tracey

    I signed up for the Hot Chocolate 5K run on Saturday. I’m not a runner but trying to get better at it. I think it will be a fun event!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

