Saturday Musings

 

I just realized I forgot to post my weigh-in results from yesterday. I lost .2 pounds this week – meh.

I didn’t track much (I don’t know why) and I made some poor food choices, but I did get to the gym several times. And I have to say, I’m so glad I belong to a gym again.

 

A few weeks ago I started talking about motivation. Where is comes from, why it’s important, and how to find it again. I myself haven’t been that motivated and haven’t been in the right mindset to write another post about it.

How could I write about motivating others, when I couldn’t even do the job?

Well, I’ve jumped back on the wagon and decided that it’s time to finish my journey, once and for all. I’ve spent almost 2 years losing weight, and I’m getting so close to the finish. How will I get there?

I’m starting small.

Whether it’s weight loss, running, or any other type of goal you set for yourself, I think many people start too big.

When I started running, my first goal was to just see how long I could run (on a treadmill) without stopping. I think I made it 1 or 2 minutes before I could take no more. That was my starting point. I had no idea then that I would be running 13 miles. Nor did I even want to think about it. My first goal was to run 1 mile without stopping. Then 1.5 miles, 2 miles, etc. I still think that way when I run – I just try to run a little farther than the last time.

So, I don’t think about the end goal. I like to set little milestones along the way.

 

image 

Think about the mile markers on the highway.  You may not even notice how many you pass as you travel along the road, but you passed them just the same.

How are you starting small?

I’m focusing on writing down everything I eat this week – good or bad. 

Leave a Reply

