The Engagement

On August 25th my life was forever changed for the better.

 

Matt asked me to be his wife, and I said yes!

Now, you’re probably wondering why I haven’t blogged about this yet, since it happened 2 weeks ago.  Well, we wanted to tell our families (especially the moms) in person, and we did that over Labor day weekend. So, now I am finally able to tell all of you!

How did he do it?

He was very sneaky!  We were headed out to meet some friends at Brix, a little wine bar downtown, when I got a phone call that one of our friends cars needed to be jumped.  I asked if we needed to come over, but there were 3 of them there to take care of it.  No biggie.  So to kill time Matt suggested we go walk around one of the parks on the river (Mississippi).  I didn’t think anything of it and agreed, since it was a nice night and I’m not one to turn down exercise.  After a few minutes he stopped in front of a fountain and gave me a kiss. “I love you,” he said. Oh my gosh, I though, is he gonna propose? It would be the perfect moment. But no, he just turned and kept walking. I think my stomach sunk to my feet. Oh well, I guess he’s not ready.  Then, just a few moments later, we were stopped at the railing and looked out on the river.

He got down on one knee, and I just didn’t know what to do. I’m not going to share what he said, because that was just for me, but I can tell you that it was more perfect than I had ever imagined it to be. (And trust me, I imagined it a lot.)

Of course all our friends were in on the plan and met with with hugs and congratulations at the bar.

Here we are just a few minutes after getting engaged.

(I think there may be more flattering pictures, but not on my camera)

 

007

(Yes, I know I am in need of a manicure.)

 

We haven’t set a date yet – how do people manage to do that so fast? – but we’re thinking sometime in June 2012.

Right now I’m just enjoying being engaged.  And reading every wedding blog I can find.

 

Oh, our families were pretty excited too. My sister nearly jumped through the roof when I told her.

 

What’s coming up on Running with Needles:

– Chili recipe!

– More in my series on motivation

– What I’ve been knitting

– Where my running has been

Stay tuned!

3 thoughts on “The Engagement

  1. Pingback: Goodbye 24, Hello 25 | Running with Needles

  2. Pingback: 2010 in less than 500 words | Running with Needles

Leave a Reply

