Back on the Scale

And it wasn’t that pretty. But not surprising, considering I was not in my own kitchen and wasn’t tracking for 5 days. So, here’s the damage:

Last week:  177.6
This week: 179
Difference: +1.4

I feel like I have been making excuses for the scale going up the last few weeks. And I have been. But it needs to stop, now. When I was visiting my parents, there was a serious lack of fresh produce and way too many carbs. I still feel all bloaty, like I’m up 10 lbs instead of 1.4. I did manage to get three runs in while I was away, which helped, but I still feel crappy.

I will be joining the gym again in about 2 weeks (after Labor Day) and I couldn’t be more excited. I think a gym membership is key for me. It’s a lot harder to motivate myself at home when there are so many other things I could be doing.  I’ve already printed out the class schedule so I can start planning what classes I want to try and when. It seems like they have a ton more than LA Fitness offered, because they have several more studios. And this chick ain’t complaining.

I also FINALLY have an interview scheduled to become a substitute teacher for the public school district.  It’s not as good as being a full-time teacher, but at least I’ll be in a classroom. And hopefully open the door to a teaching job.

And speaking of which, I’m thinking about going back to school to become certified to teach other subject areas. Music is one of the most difficult teaching jobs to get, mainly because there aren’t a lot of them, and it’s often the first thing on the curriculum to go. I’m going to need to talk to an admissions person about my options, but I’m thinking history, physical education, or elementary education (which is offered as an accelerated evening program), Decisions, decisions.

So I’ll leave you with my goals for the week:

1. Eat more fruits & veggies.

2. Get in 5 workouts.

3. Don’t overindulge.

4. Track!

I’m keeping it simple this week. Simple is best. Sometimes we get hung up on numbers. Eating a certain amount of fruits/veggies. Tracking a certain amount of days per week. Run a certain amount of miles. But getting rid of all those numbers gives us some wiggle room, and makes it a little easier to forgive ourselves when we DO slip up.

So, here’s to not stressing over the numbers. Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

