Back home

What a whirlwind couple of days. I’m glad that we were able to make it back home for the funeral, but I am so happy to be back. I feel like I was in the car for two days straight.

Let’s recap, shall we?

Matt and I left about 10am Sunday morning to head up to Chicago, it’s about a 5 hour drive (including a stop or two) and I was glad to be a passenger for this trip. Reading, knitting, and iPhone game-playing ensued. We stopped to visit his brother and see our nephew who just came home from the hospital after having heart surgery. He looks so good; he’s such a happy baby.
I then stole Matt’s car and headed to my grandparents house – it was my grandmas 82nd birthday! A few of my aunts were there as well, and they were all happy to see me. (Duh.) I’ll actually be seeing them all again (and then some) next weekend to celebrate my grandparents 60th wedding anniversary, which is pretty amazing. I’m super psyched for that, and even remembered to pick up a card today.

Monday I was able to get out for a 3.5 mile run (finally!) and then got ready for the funeral service, which is never a fun thing. But I did notice that the skirt I was wearing felt a little looser than the last time I had it on. Following the service was a potluck luncheon at the church, where I ate a plate full of food that I normally wouldn’t – but it was so good. My splurge was a fried chicken leg and a small sliver of cheesecake.

We met up with my sister at a gas station off the highway – she’s visiting for a few days! The original plan was to take the train down here, but since we were back home anyway, we just met up near the highway. The drive back seemed like it took forever, but I somehow managed to stay awake the whole time. I confess I slept like a rock last night, and was a little reluctant to get up this morning.

Here’s the recap of my fab run:

I ran 3.59 miles in 38 minutes – with an average pace of 10:37! The lower temperature and humidity definitely made a difference and I felt wonderful. I know it’ll be a good long while before I have another run this good.

Now I’m off to  fix dinner – pork chops with eggplant and zucchini I picked up at the farmers market today. Bon apetit!

One thought on “Back home

  1. Ryan

    If she had waited a couple of days Kelly and I could have driven down together. Your loss. :PI can't wait to see you this weekend, though, sis!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

