Sunday morning

I love Sunday mornings. They are inherenantly lazy and made for sleeping in. Unless you have a cat that needs to be fed and will stop at nothing to wake you by 8 am.

After getting up I made some oatmeal (w/Fiber One and blueberries) and washed dishes. Then I sat down and read the paper (read the ads, more like), sipped my coffee, and painted my toenails. Lovely.

Let’s backtrack. Friday morning I was able to get out for a run. I woke up, checked the weather on my trusty iPhone, saw it was only 70 degrees, and shot up out of bed. Here’s the Nike+ recap:

After not running for a week, I felt pretty stiff and slow. I had to take several walk breaks, but I still completed 6k (about 3.75 miles) and felt good afterward. I ate breakfast then (after digesting) did day 28 of 30 day shred and 100 crunches.

So all this heat has got me thinking. I was going to wait until it got too cold outside to join the local Y. But I didn’t think it would be too HOT to go for a run! Last year I was spoiled by a mild summer, and it was my first summer as a runner. Also, registration for the fall class session starts in a couple weeks, and I am seriously missing my classes! It’s relatively affordable – $65 sign-up, $36 a month.

Friday night we also had some friends over for dinner. There was guacamole, homemade salsa, chili-cheese dip, wine, beer, homemade burgers, and more. It was fun, and my apartment hasn’t looked so clean since we moved in!

Yesterday was a very lazy Saturday. I didn’t even work out, but did manage do get some knitting done.

I worked last night. It was super slow and boring. But it’s a little money, which is better than nothing. I work again tonight, but not til 6, so hopefully I’ll work out today. If not, I’m off tomorrow so there will be plenty of exercise going on.  And shopping. It’s a tax holiday in Illinois, so no 5% state tax on clothes, shoes, and school supplies. Score!

Hope you all enjoy your lazy Sundays!

One thought on “Sunday morning

  1. fitfunandfabulous

    This heat is just insane, isn't it? This is my first summer as a runner and I didn't realize how much the heat puts a damper on my running. It's either early morning or on a treadmill for me!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

