Let’s get physical!

Happy Tuesday. Or as I like to call it, Biggest Loser night!

That show is totally my guilty pleasure, although sometimes it drags on and on for those 2 hours. And tonight’s challenge was my favorite of the whole season. The contestants have to drag a bag full of weights that represent what they have lost throughout the season. Being able to see and feel what they used to carry around on their bodies is a real eye opener, and helps put things in perspective. I sometimes find myself picking up a weight at the gym and imagine what I felt like when that weight was part of me. Or pick up a bag of dog food at the store and carry it around a few aisles. 50 lbs is really pretty heavy, in case you didn’t know. I recently carried a 30 lb cat litter up the stairs and was shocked at how difficult it was. Perspective. It’s a wonderful thing.

So on to to day’s recap. Work was pretty good. We have our spring concert coming up so I’m in performance mode. The kids, not so much. I think they are more concerned with the many activities that accompany the last days of school, as well as the upcoming summer vacation. Trust me, I’m excited too. But I won’t celebrate too much until the concert is over Thursday night.

Rehearsal today went well and I am confident in the kids abilities to perform well. Whew!
I hit up Target on the way home looking for some cute summer sandals, but was disappointed. They had either flat non-supportive strappy sandals or high heels. No luck. I did pick up a few graduation cards (boyfriend and sister!).

The training calendar said 3 miles today so that’s what I did! Here’s the Nike+

I was running on the treadmill, which is why the pace is so steady today.
The run was followed by working out with my trainer, also named Melissa. We did chest/triceps/shoulders today and I’m already feeling sore. Boo. I’ve been working with her since October and can really see the difference in muscle definition. It’s pretty awesome. My arms seem less jiggly and my shoulders and back are starting to show definition. Sweet!
Dinner was pretty boring, so no pictures. Just cooked some pasta, a salmon filet that I’d been craving, and some frozen veggies. And even had enough points left over for a smoothie!
Tonight’s contained:
3/4 cup plain yogurt
1/2 large banana
2 cups of spinach
1 Tbsp flaxseed
1 1/2 cups frozen tropical fruit
I really love using yogurt in these – they come out so thick it’s almost like a milkshake! And if you freeze it for a bit you get instant frozen yogurt. Perfect for a former ice cream addict like me. 
Question of the day: What’s your favorite post-workout treat?
One thought on “Let’s get physical!

Leave a Reply

