It’s a Monster! Run!

This has been a pretty great week so far. I had a fun weekend with the boyfriends family (including out new nephew!) and ate yummy homemade mac & cheese and porterhouse burgers (double yum).

I’ve been so on plan with Weight Watchers and activity. The seemingly simple act of eating healthy and exercising is starting to feel like second nature to me and I am feeling better than I have in a long, long, long time.

I was complimented today at work by two different teachers. One praised my always-healthy lunches and the other told me I looked small! Me! Small! Then she asked me what my secret is. Now, had this not been in front of her whole 5th grade class I would have said ‘Weight Watchers.’ But you know how (most) kids are. I just said that I eat lots of fruits and veggies along with exercise (which is the truth).

But that got me thinking. I’m sure most of you who are losing weight have been asked at some point along your journey what your secret is. Like there is some piece of knowledge that we’re hiding from the rest of the world. All we’re doing is exactly what we’ve been taught about healthy eating since we were little. Eat your fruits and veggies. Play outside. Don’t have too many sweets. But as a culture we are taught that portions need to be huge to be satisfying. And that we should spend our evenings watching one of the many sitcoms or cop shows on any of our 200 channels.

But I digress. That’s a subject for a whole other blog post. Another day.

So according to the training schedule, today was a 4 mile run. Here’s the screenshot from Nike+

Folks, you may notice that the background is a different color than my previous runs. Well, on Nike+ there are different levels when you run a certain number of miles. I’m now in the third level, green, which was achieved after running 155 miles on the Nike+!!!

Today’s run was done in the forest preserve, and it was so beautiful today. I feel like I have taken the great outdoors for granted the past few years, opting to stay in the air conditioning watching movies during the spring/summer. All that fresh air and green is so good for my soul.

Now, if you had told me a year ago that I would be able to run for 45 minutes I would have called you crazy. But, as you can see, I can do it. And I survived!

Then I came home and refueled after burning 600 calories.
My mom had made a fiesta chicken bake tonight – not horribly bad, but I just had a small piece.

Then I made a green monster, which I haven’t had in a while. Here’s a picture:

Oh, I also toasted a light English muffin and topped it with Smuckers sugar free strawberry preserves

My green monster contained:
2 cups spinach
3/4 cup plain fat-free yogurt
1/2 banana
1 cup frozen fruit (papaya, mango, strawberry, pineapple)
1 scoop GNC banana protein powder
4 ice cubes

And it was soooo good. I really enjoy these as a post-workout snack/dessert. And there are so many different combinations it’s never the same twice.

This post is getting to be a little long, so I think I’ll say good-bye now. I think I’l go watch Glee since I missed it last night due to Biggest Loser.

Today’s stats
Distance: 4.09 miles
Time: 45:05
Average pace: 11:01

Leave a Reply

