Tuesday afternoon…sort of

Happy Tuesday! Okay, so it’s nothing to get too excited about. But Tuesday means Biggest Loser and Glee, right?

I am very conflicted when it comes to BL. On one hand, I feel for the contestants and want them to succeed. But on the other hand, they are losing weight so fast, and in such a controlled environment, it’s no wonder that many of them gain back weight when the show is over and the pressure is off.

So onto the real stuff.

Breakfast today was a packet of Quaker Instant High Fiber Cinnamon Swirl when I woke up at 6 and a medium banana around 8. This kept me so full until lunch. Oatmeal really is amazing, and I can’t believe I waited to long into this whole weight loss thing to start eating it regularly.

On Tuesday I have an hour long lunch – twice as long as usual. I’m a traveling teacher, and often teach music lessons in very odd places. The building I’m in on Tuesdays has me teaching on the stage in the gym – where the students eat lunch. It’s obviously way too noisy to teach with 200 screaming kids, so I get extra lunch.

Lunch today seemed so huge when I spread it all out on the table. It consisted of:
1 cup Campbell’s Tomato Garden soup (delicious, by the way)
3/4 cup Chobani greek yogurt, plain nonfat
1 cup frozen mixed berries (they weren’t frozen by lunchtime)
1/2 cup Fiber One original
medium orange
1 cup strawberries

There are no pictures because I get funny looks taking pictures of my lunch in the teachers lounge.
This was so filling. I honestly wasn’t that hungry when I got in the car at 3:30 and headed to the gym – but I had my Fuji apple anyway. And in case you were wondering, Fuji’s are my favorite. Sweet, crisp, juicy. I think I could eat one everyday. Oh wait…

I worked with my trainer today – did a bunch of squats and lunges, then some abs. All I know is I’ll be sore in the morning.

Then I hopped on the treadmill and ran 2 miles. The first mile was at a steady 5.8 mph. Then I thought “why not do some intervals?” So the second mile alternated between 5.8 and 6.8, 1 minute each. Whew! I thought about sticking around for kickboxing (which I love) but I was wiped out.

Notice how the speed gradually went up? That’s a cool thing, folks.
Dinner was delicious tonight. Sadly, no pictures to share. I really need to step it up in that department. I cooked 1 cup couscous, then mixed in 1/2 cup black beans and put it atop a sliced up bell pepper. I also made a 4 oz salmon fillet topped with 1/2 cup diced tomatoes. Oh yum.
And then I made a green monster. I’m going to try to make one everyday this week. It’s definitely a great way to end the day.
What’s your favorite evening snack? 
Today’s stats
Mileage: 2.01
Time: 20:09
Average Pace: 10:00
Calories burned: 480
Leave a Reply

