Saturday in the park

Well, technically it was the forest preserve. The first thing I did this morning was get up and run 5 miles. And it wasn’t so scary. I woke up later than planned and only had about 20 minutes between eating my oatmeal and running. Yeah, not enough time. My stomach felt slightly unsettled the first couple miles, and my legs felt so tight from pilates last night. I pushed through and kept going strong. Here’s the screenshot from Nike (I finally figured out how to do this – it looks so nifty).

I usually don’t take a walk break so early in a run, but there was a deer standing on the edge of the path and I did not want to be attacked.  I don’t think I stopped again until about 2.4miles, which was the turnaround point today. I drove home and cleaned up quickly before heading to my weekly weigh-in and meeting. And I lost 2 pounds!!! I gained .8 last week so I was hoping to lose at least that much. I just couldn’t believe what I saw on the scale. I think it’s safe to say that I have totally recommitted to WW and living a healthy lifestyle. And here are a few things to prove it:

1) I woke up at 7am and ran 5 miles on a Saturday morning

2) When I got some cheese at the deli counter, the lady asked if I’d like to eat the first slice (she wanted to make sure it was sliced thin enough) and I said no thanks. Wasn’t hungry, wasn’t in my plan for the day

3) I didn’t take a bag of the pretzel things they handed out at WW this morning. I’m trying to give up/greatly reduce the amount of prepackaged food I eat. And I generally avoid WW Brand snacks.

4) I have hit a new low weight since I was probably about 16 years old – this morning I weighed in at 182.4. And this means I am 2.2 away from losing 50 lbs. And 22 away from my lifetime goal.

Whoa, I just realized that both those are 2 2. Good sign? And that’s also how old I was when I started WW. This is getting a little freaky…

So tonight I splurged and got a slice of pizza from a local pizza place. Their slogan is “World’s Biggest Slice of Pizza.” It’s literally 1/4 a large pizza (and a free 10 oz soda). For $5. And it’s actually good. I got the supreme (sausage, peppers, onion, mushroom). Sooo yummy. And totally satisfied and craving for pizza for a good month or two.

Pilates last night was killer. I haven’t gone in a few weeks and I was definitely feeling it. But it’s a good kind of pain, you know?

And now I will go pour myself another cup of chamomile tea and read/knit for a bit before going to sleep.

Today’s mileage: 5.01
Average pace: 11:18
Calories burned: 795

What changes have you made stick in your effort to be healthier and happier?

Leave a Reply

